hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : problems after move accounts to another server
Reply

Forum Jump

problems after move accounts to another server

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2004, 03:25 AM
wfq2 wfq2 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 72

problems after move accounts to another server


After I use whm to transffer multiple accounts from another server to ev1 server, the A records of some domains are still having my old server's IP address. This caused those domains can not be accessed properly. Can you please tell me how to correct this without going to whm and edit the DNS record one by one?

What might the other problems existing I might not notice after server moving?

Thank you.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-11-2004, 03:33 AM
Bashar Bashar is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 10,572
all sites points to single IP ?

if yes then edit all db files to replace old IP with new IP using the following
cd /var/named/
perl -pi -e "s:111.111.111.111:222.222.222.222:g" *.db

this will replace 111.111.111.111 with 222.222.222.222 in all db files

to make a backup copy use perl -pi.bak -e and new files will be generated as domain.com.db.bak

__________________
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi

  #3  
Old 05-11-2004, 09:03 AM
rcs rcs is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Posts: 433
Have you changed the registrar info of those domains to point to the new server?

__________________
Uadm.com - Unix Administration, Security and Support.
http://www.uadm.com
"Unix is user friendly; it's just picky about who its friends are."

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-11-2004, 03:22 PM
wfq2 wfq2 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 72
yes, I did.
The problem is , all transffered primary domains work fine , except the addon domains.

Also, when I try to view the bandwidth usage, I could not see any transffered accounts listed.

Can somebody tell me what to do?

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?