Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 46
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600

    Max games per server?

    Getting into gameserver business ^_^

    Just wondering, how many games can I run per server?

    Server #1:
    AMD 1400
    256mb RAM
    1500gb bandwidth

    Server #2:
    P4 2.4ghz
    512mb RAM
    1000gb bandwidth
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    I wouldn't suggest running a game server on any of those machines. All I know is that the P4 could probably have 20 players online at a time. This is for Half-Life.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600
    what about condition zero and natural selection?
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    CZ is the same as CS. NS is more resource intensive, you'll only be able to host 10-15 slots on that P4. The RAM is holding you back. Get 512 MB more and you'll be set.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600
    if i got the AMD upgraded to 512mb RAM, how many player public NS server could I run?
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    I believe you'd be able to run the same as the P4.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600
    hmmm, so CPU doesn't seem to matter that much, and it's mostly RAM?
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    459
    Get a:

    Quad AMD Opteron 850
    12 GB DDR RAM
    SCSI 73 x 2 (raid enabled)
    100mbit (20mbit bandwidth)

    And you can run about 400-500 slots

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    Originally posted by ewhost
    hmmm, so CPU doesn't seem to matter that much, and it's mostly RAM?
    CPU does matter. But the RAM is holding you back on the two servers you listed. Actually, I read your post again, and a AMD 1400 sucks. Get at least a 2000+, or stick with the P4.

    Originally posted by DJ Plasma
    Get a:

    Quad AMD Opteron 850
    12 GB DDR RAM
    SCSI 73 x 2 (raid enabled)
    100mbit (20mbit bandwidth)

    And you can run about 400-500 slots
    lol

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600
    how many slots can the p4 server run if it had 1gb RAM instead of 512mb?
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    There are too many variables that must be considered while answering your question, but I'd say around 35 simultaneously.

  12. #12
    Server #1:
    AMD 1400
    256mb RAM
    1500gb bandwidth

    Server #2:
    P4 2.4ghz
    512mb RAM
    1000gb bandwidth

    I have experience with both machines. the AMD can hold about 16 max and the P4 2.4ghz 512ram can hold 40-50 with another 512 ram it can hold 60

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    Little light for game hosting don't you think? Especially if you are considering 'selling' packages..

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    452
    Im with X.

    You are going to be very dissapointed with the results on those machines if you are looking to run more than one game server per machine.


    And if you are starting it up to make "loads of cash" look elsewhere. You can make money hosting game servers but its hard and takes dedication.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    459
    X-Gaming, what do you use in NY & Dallas (which datacenters) ?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    Originally posted by DJ Plasma
    X-Gaming, what do you use in NY & Dallas (which datacenters) ?

    If I tell you I might have to..... Well you know

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    365
    Originally posted by X-Gaming
    If I tell you I might have to..... Well you know
    lol

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    Originally posted by TeKiZeRo
    lol
    Please remove that dancing banana from your signature, or I might have to...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    1,100
    with gaming, get dual processors.. dual anything - it really helps.

    most companies have a standard dual xeon 2.4 - 3.0 / 2-4 gigs ram and 2 scusi 10k-15k / raptor 10k drives.

    I know a few which have quad xeon 2.4 / 8 gig ram / raid 0 scusci 15k.. but that isn't exactly your every day provider.
    I specialize in neck beards
    Latest: Reach for Android

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    I would say to really do some research if you think your getting into the game server business make sure you've done your research!!!

    as for your questions you wont host many games or slots on either of those computers
    eXeGaming : Professional Gaming Organization

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    600
    well, my original plan was to host 1 game (dunno which game yet) max 20 players on the P4, and one game (natural selection) max 14 players on the AMD

    would that work well?
    Dating Revolution Method - Book on how to meet and attract women

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    the p4 should be able to do that without a problem (might take a bit of tweaking to really make it smooth) the amd honestly i would think it would work but its hard to say and I dont have any experiance with servers on that speed of machine lowest i've ever used is cel 2.4 512mb ram
    eXeGaming : Professional Gaming Organization

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    332
    Theres no fixed amount of players you can get on each machine. There are tons of different things that affect the machine's performance. There are also many game-related things that have an impact. For example, addons, configuration, maps etc.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    509
    Just a bit of experience for those who could care a bit.

    Mrdredd, one of my bosses, runs a 22 player Unreal Tournament 2004 server on a P4 2.5GHZ, 1GB DDR, 80GB 7200RPM 8MB HD server and it has lag when it gets around 20 players or so, its full every night so i know for a fact its not just a random thing.
    (server name is HELLFIRE-EMPIRE NJ / 66.55.137.162:7777)

    Its the only thing running on the machine, besides AIM.

    Its running windows 2000 advanced server
    Matthew Gunnin
    COO - Dataracks, Inc.
    Dataracks.net | Ultra-Reliable Hosting.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    Originally posted by nkisberg2000
    Theres no fixed amount of players you can get on each machine. There are tons of different things that affect the machine's performance. There are also many game-related things that have an impact. For example, addons, configuration, maps etc.

    BINGO. Thank you Nick

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198
    Just wondering is the game server using alot of bandwidth.

    20 slots full 24/7, = ?? bitrate

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    169
    my old AMD Athlon 900mhz with 256mb ram was used for a local lan paty once. it had 20 people on it with 8-15 pings.

    btw, one 20 player CS server takes up less CPU then two 10 player CS servers

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    140
    Originally posted by cs_gamer
    my old AMD Athlon 900mhz with 256mb ram was used for a local lan paty once. it had 20 people on it with 8-15 pings.

    btw, one 20 player CS server takes up less CPU then two 10 player CS servers
    This is wrong.

    Sure, it is more memory-resoursive on (2) servers ... but it is MORE CPU on a 20 player CS server then 2 10 player CS servers.

    It's common sense... more players = more packets sent

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago IL Equinix IBX
    Posts
    753
    How about these specs of this machine? How many slots/players do you think this machine will host?

    Dual 2.4Ghz Xeon's, 4GB of RAM, and 36GB SCSI drive, dual ethernet ports.


    This is going to be inside Equinix Faclity Chicago IL.

    I'm just wondering about how many slots i can host with this server.. ONLY Running Counter-Strike 1.6 game servers we will have other machines running webhosting and ventrilo w/e the customers want

  30. #30
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    589
    I woudl take out 2.5gb of ram of this server and change the SCSI HD for an IDE one.

    CS servers won't use that much ram and won't use the drive enough to justify scsi.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    Originally posted by SethEffectz
    How about these specs of this machine? How many slots/players do you think this machine will host?

    Dual 2.4Ghz Xeon's, 4GB of RAM, and 36GB SCSI drive, dual ethernet ports.


    This is going to be inside Equinix Faclity Chicago IL.

    I'm just wondering about how many slots i can host with this server.. ONLY Running Counter-Strike 1.6 game servers we will have other machines running webhosting and ventrilo w/e the customers want

    4GB's of RAM is overkill. Start with 1.5 and work from there.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    169
    Originally posted by Mustard010
    This is wrong.

    It's common sense... more players = more packets sent
    two 10 player servers is EQUAL in amount of players to a single 20 player server.

    You know 10 + 10 = 20 right?

    So...
    What are you talking about? common sense.... apprently you didnt use yours. Aren't you going to count the CPU usage of the one extra CS HLDS?

    man i can backup what i say with cpu usage graphs if i had 20 people on hand. ive been playing cs since '99 and hosting lan parties for 2 years i know im saying.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58

    20 Slots vs 2 x 10 slots

    The role of a game server is to process environmental vectors which include position, velocity, rate of fire etc.... and then send them back to the clients.

    With 20 users simultaneously playing on the same server, the server has to process more variables and hence use more CPU resources, Also, each player will receive more information concerning the position and status of other players.

    Alternatively, two 10 player servers will use less CPU resources because each game has less players and thus information to process. They will also use less bandwidth as each player does not need to know the position and status of 19 other players, but rather just 9 others.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago IL Equinix IBX
    Posts
    753
    Originally posted by X-Gaming
    4GB's of RAM is overkill. Start with 1.5 and work from there.

    I dont know how you run your game servers but i use At a MIN of 2gig ram...

    We have 4 of these racks left over from our dedicated server selection and now have a new shipment of machines to offer.. so we are going to use these for our gaming service's

    The reason why i'm useing 4gig of ram is i'm thinking it will run the servers more smother and everything will run better.. no lag and such... fast map loads with the SCSI Drive's Just wondering how many slots it would be able to hold?

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    The reason why i'm useing 4gig of ram is i'm thinking it will run the servers more smother and everything will run better.. no lag and such...
    Again from personal experience I don't think 4gb's of Ram would help anything on a game server. Waste of money IMO.

    2gigs is more then enough.

  36. #36
    i doubt you'd feel the full potential of 4gb of RAM...just stick with 2gb
    Robin Alex
    At your service....

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago IL Equinix IBX
    Posts
    753
    Well.. still that does not answer my question lol.. I'm just going to keep the 4gig ram in there.. and run it with it.. But i just want to know how many possible players i can host on that machine.. If you know that is..

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    191
    Im not even sure 1kG of BW is enough to support a busy server w/o you paying out the arse for going over.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    198
    I think they meant not enough cpu to utilize that many memory

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    169
    http://www.gam3r.com/images/proof1.jpg = game server host
    http://www.gam3r.com/images/proof2.jpg = gaming website editor
    http://www.gam3r.com/images/proof3.jpg = long time gamer
    http://www.gam3r.com/images/proof4.jpg = long time gamer
    same number of players with an extra instance will always take up more cpu. case closed. more to come if you want more proof

    A server with more than 2gb of memory will not affect the number of gameservers you can put in. but it will be more on the CPU. but if you had probably a quad opteron, than you can fit more gameservers thus needing more memory.

    dual 2.4xeons can probably fit 6 or more private servers, most of the time their empty. for public im not really sure becase the number of players always vary, wait for x-gaming's reponse he should know more than the other ppl here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •