FrontPage login problems - just one site on the server

I've never used FrontPage before, but I have a friend who's hosting a site on my server and he'd like to use it. The problem is I can't connect to his account using FP. I get the following error, even before it asks me for a password:

The folder 'http://domainname.com' isn't accessible. The folder may be located in an unavailable location, protected with a password, or the filename contains a / or \.
    I've tried unloading and reloading FP extensions. I've tried deleting the .htaccess and letting FP make a new one. Neither worked.

I FTP transfered his site over to my server from another server that he had been using FP, so it had all his FP extensions. Maybe that's what's causing the problem? Left over extensions? I thought then when I unloaded extensions it would delete them all, but maybe it's missing something?

The really strange part is I have another site on that box just sitting idle so I set it up with FP extensions as a test and I can get to it just fine. So it doesn't sound like an Apache or other server setting.

Any ideas?

never used Front Page but in an attempt to make a FTP connection do you shoot at http ports?

Try using something along the lines of ftp://example.com unless I am just far too green with FP to know better

Silly enough, if you try publishing (where the operative word is PUBLISHING) to http://www.mydomain.com it should work. Just add the "www"

Often, it's the stupidest thing.

are you by chance using plesk 7 on this server?
    If so make sure cgi is disabled for the site. I have seen numerous problems with fp extensions and cgi conflicting on plesk 7.

Cope and Trilux, thanks for the suggestions, but unfortunately neither of those work.

jdoverclock, this is on a cpanel box. I'm not sure where I would turn off CGI, although I'm hoping that's not necessary because I need to use CGI scripts on that account.

Greetings: