Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197

    installing php with GD

    I currently own a dedicated server running cpanel on redhat from managed.com. I just noticed that imaging functions for PHP are not installed by default. My linux administration skills are minimal, do you think its easy to get php with gd installed without ruining everything? I presume I will have to recompile Apache with php as a module right? is there a guide somewhere?

  2. #2
    login to WHM, scroll down to installing rpms, click on configure apache, and select the GD module.. easy as that. It may take about 5 mins to recompile though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    wow! thank god I got a control panel then!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    I can see the following:

    gd (reinstall)
    gd-devel (reinstall)
    gd-progs (reinstall)
    gdb
    gdbm (reinstall)
    gdbm-devel (reinstall)
    gdm

    I guess all the "reinstall" are already installed, which one should I install?

  5. #5
    Umm no that is your redhat package manager.. they ARE installed (by default) but you have to recompile apache- you wanna go to "update apache" not "install rpm's"

    in the WHM panel.

    IF you have CPanel control panel.

    If you dont, I dont know any others, I could tell you how to recompile apache via SSH, but chances are it might break your control panel stuff..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    ok I do use CPanel.

    There are 3 options:
    Update Server Software - which says everything is up to date
    Update System Software - something tells me thats not it
    Update Backend Scripts - guess not

    The only things I can directly see that I can do with apache is restart the service or change its memory limit.

  7. #7
    i am 100% sure its there because I did it the other day, but I cant login to check it out from my work computers, they block all ports but 80

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    doesn't seem to be there (at least not as gd-module). I have the same problem from work too..

  9. #9
    Under the "software" heading, select "Update Apache"

    if you dont have THAT, you seriously need to upgrade your CPanel.

    I'm running CPanel 9.2.0-R2

    Ive had the Update Apache option since CPanel 8.0 at least

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    it says:
    WHM 9.2.0
    Cpanel 9.2.0-R24
    RedHat 9

    and this is what is under the Software heading:

    Install a RPM
    Rebuild RPM Database
    Install a Perl Module
    Update Server Software
    Update System Software
    Update Backend Scripts

  11. #11
    Hmm weird.. very very weird.. here's mine.. :

    WHM 9.2.0 cPanel 9.2.0-R24
    RedHat 9 - WHM X v2.1(<-CHECK YOUR THEME!)

    Software
    Install an RPM
    Rebuild RPM Database
    Update Apache
    Install a Perl Module
    Check/Repair a Perl Script
    Update Server Software
    Update System Software
    Update Backend Scripts

    What theme are you using??

    I would suggest trying the "X" theme

    Change your WHM theme and see if you get it..

    Cpanel themes are famous (infamous?) for having links/icons/etc missing or added or useless across themes..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    I don't believe this.. I changed the theme and it appeared!
    this is a serious problem I wonder why they've not fixed it..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    197
    its rebuilding apache now
    THANKS

  14. #14
    hmm, what theme were you originally using then?

  15. #15
    I suspect one of the older original themes.. iconic or blue lagoon perhaps. note in your WHM the link to update to X theme..

    I suspect that is because they have added so many new features, it is a constant battle for the web design team to keep up with the changes made by the development team, so the development team uses just the ONE default "X" theme.. in order to fix the older themes, someone has to manually edit every single template and theme to keep up with the current changes..

    :-D

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    194
    Yeah, I just did this. It's pretty cool how whm has this option, I'm just installing Gd now but decided to change to Php5.0.4 also
    █ Software developer, web designer, and general clever-clogs.
    █ C#, XHTML, CSS, PHP, MySQL, MsSQL, T-SQL, Photoshop & more

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •