Thinking of starting my own web design business ..

I have been doing web design for a few years now .. mostly for fun. I have a free template site for blogs, which has done very well.

I would post a few examples .. but since I am new, the site will not let me post a link to an outside site yet ... 4 more posts to go before I can do that ...

One problem I have always had, was the thought that I was not 'good enough' to do this as a way to make money. I have finally been pushed to at least try (by my husband) ... so here I am .. ready to take the plunge.

I don't know anything about pricing though .. now much I should charge for a site .. I don't even know where to begin, really. So, a friend of mine recommended stopping by here and checking to see what answers I could receive.

So .. I thought Id check you out, and ask away. My first question then, is where do I start? How much should I charge?

Ill stop with those for now. ITA everyone.

mizJenna

I'm no profesional but I will go ahead and offer my suggestions. When I look for a designer, I look for someone who is experienced and profesional. I think the biggest thing would be your portfolio. If I were you, I would do 1-2 maybe free websites to open up your portfolio. To start, design yourself a website. As far as the price, it depends. Do you do flash work? 3D Modeling? Etc.

Yes, like proxie said.. I mostly look at the quality of work.

Also maybe look into partners that maybe can share your workload.. have skills you might not have(flash, php...)

Firstly, I suggest you make a 'portfolio' website. Even if you have nothing to go in there, create one to show your work from, accept / quote new possible clients and so forth. Next, think about what you're going to be offering, if you lack any skills, find someone who is interested in doing what you're about to do, and has the skills you require.