Thread: startup

* startup

hello, im in canada, and i wnt to start a webhosting company, do i need to register anything? from the governemt? etc, and if people were to call in, how would i go about charging them? do i ask for their credit card, or what? im pretty new to this so any help would be apreicated, also, what about didication servers, can you host websites with dedicated servers? thanks

Alright

To run a hosting company legaly you need a license to operate a business. Contact your local ministry and ask them what number to call for a business license.

If someone calls in and you would like to charge them you will need a 3rd party merchant account. I reccomend utilizing PayPal just to get your feet wet since their service is free and you can accept credit cards via your website.

As far as servers are concerned you will probably want to start off with a reseller plan. That will allow you to host unlimited domains.

I use matrixreseller.com and they have unix reseller hosting plans starting at $20(US) a month that should serve you pretty well.

Also you will need to get a free account setup with a domain registrar. My suggestion is GoDaddy.com the account is free. This will allow you to manage registration of the domain names.

Hope this help

Re: startup

Originally posted by CastorTroy
    hello, im in canada, and i wnt to start a webhosting company, do i need to register anything? from the governemt? etc, and if people were to call in, how would i go about charging them? do i ask for their credit card, or what? im pretty new to this so any help would be apreicated, also, what about didication servers, can you host websites with dedicated servers? thanks
    First off, I would advise you to check for spelling and grammar errors before replying to your clients with such horrible format.