Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82

    Basic Apache Server. Giving name to IP address

    In a Local network, I can access the Apache Server using the Server's IP address from any client PC. ( http://10.2.52.148 )

    Is it possible to set apache so I can use a name like ( http://myname ) instead of the above IP address?


    Thank you.
    Alex
    ----------------

  2. #2
    Does your machine have a 'name' on your network such as 'computer1' or whatever you may call your PC. Right click on 'My Computer' then Properties then Computer Name (XP) to find out yours. Then try http://yourcomputername with Apache running and see what happens.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Thanks intername

    Your idea works only on the server computer. Not on the client computers.

    How can I make it work everywhere?


    Alex
    -----

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Anybody ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,123
    Just run a nameserver and use it for all the other computers. Then you can make dns hosting (fake) for a domain even if it doesn't belongs to you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Thanks Creta.

    I am not into webhosting and I know that some people can help me here.

    Is it any simple nameserver that I can use?

    Any installation tips???

    I only need one name!!!!!


    Any ideas????

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    80
    What operating system is the server computer running?
    http://www.dynamis.net
    A small domain host focusing on personalized service.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,123
    If linux is your operating system then use bind. It's very easy to setup a dns server in linux. You can search for the DNS HOW-TO in google for info.

  9. #9

    Yes, you can

    Yes, you can if you can find the computer name in "My Network Places" of your computer

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Thank you kelvin_gl and all,

    Your advise is really important to me at this time.

    I am running on the windows XP platform.


    Kelvin_gl,

    What do you mean? I don't seem to be able to find the computer's name in "My Network Places" as you said......

    But I have tried that idea and it seems to work only on the server computer. Not on the client computers.

    As said I am running on windows XP platform.

    Any ideas????


    Alex
    Last edited by AlexP; 05-04-2004 at 12:25 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Reading your responses, you're fairly new to this, so try something painless and free:
    http://www.zoneedit.com/

    I am not associated with this company in any manner.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Thanks Worn

    I just need one single name instead of putting the IP number in IE everytime.

    Yes I am new, and for me its difficult to run a complete nameserver.

    Any more painless solutions will really be appreciated.

    Thanks very much!!!!


    Alex
    ---------

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    What's the IP and the DNS name for it?
    I'll submit it to zoneedit.com for you. It's free DNS. You just type what IP you want to resolve for what name...that's it.

    They offer a free trial for up to 5 zones.

    Good luck.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Also another free DNS service:
    http://www.granitecanyon.com/
    Granite Canyon is the most well known free DNS provider. They will provide DNS, free of cost, for as many domains as you have. They are a little harder to use, and their servers aren't quite as reliable, but they are a great, completely free DNS solution.

  15. #15
    AlexP is trying to get it working locally and not over the web. These free dns services are going to do nothing but confuse him(?)

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    Windows XP:
    Open NOTEPAD.EXE

    Edit this file:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\etc\HOSTS

    Place the host you want for local name resolution:
    64.236.24.4 www.cnn.com
    207.46.144.222 www.microsoft.com

    That's it.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    82
    Yes,

    I will run it Locally.....

    Any workarounds? Just one name I want!!!


    Alex

  18. #18
    Yep, w0rn is right - You'll have to put edit the hosts file on all the computers you want to hit your server by name from. It's very easy to do.

    Your only other option is to use some sort of DNS server, which is much more work than you should be getting in to for something like this.


    Originally posted by w0rn
    Windows XP:
    Open NOTEPAD.EXE

    Edit this file:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\etc\HOSTS

    Place the host you want for local name resolution:
    64.236.24.4 www.cnn.com
    207.46.144.222 www.microsoft.com

    That's it.
    -= System Administrator Windows/Linux - MCDST, MCP =-
    www.VETCOELECTRONICS.com

  19. #19

    host file

    You might modify your host file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •