Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    PHP-Nuke hosting company? How do I start one?

    Hello. Does anyone know of free software that will help me host PHP-Nuke websites? Please make sure it works with Windows XP.

    Thanks
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    339
    you want to host php-nuke websites on winXP? or what?
    laslo.ca
    Quality Canadian Web Hosting

  3. #3
    Yes. Just a script (PHP/MySQL) that can help me host PHP-Nuke sites.
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,357
    The scripts that build PHP-Nuke will be included and you just need to use a server running IIS with PHP installed if you want to go Windows. XP Pro will need IIS installing but I believe XP Pro is very limiting. Are you wanting to host from XP? I would not recommend that path.
    -- Matthew

  5. #5
    host in xp? and the server where is? in your home?

    bad idea

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    27
    XP = Home Computing Enviroment

    In order to reliably host just about anything, you'll need a server enviroment, such as Windows 2003 Server.

    As far as hosting the PHP-Nuke, I assume you'll need an FTP Server, a Mail Server, some sort of Control Panel to offer, PHP, MySQL, Perl (many modules use this), and ASP/ASP.NET.

  7. #7
    The webserver is up and running. I have a PHP-Nuke portal running, I want to host PHP-Nuke for other people. And I was wondering if there is a script that can help host PHP-Nuke sites. Like click a button and have another one set-up, ect.
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  8. #8
    i use fantastico for my customer, but run in linux

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Duluth MN
    Posts
    3,864
    From the sounds of it, you want to run a business hosting PHP-Nuke for people from your home computer on your cable/dsl connection. Like others have said, this is a bad Idea. For one, the stability of your computer running XP is not nearly as good as the stability of a server running linux or even windows server. Second, your internet connection is not nearly fast enough to host very many sites. The one site you have on there might work well enough, but once you add 2 or 3 sites, especially with how graphic intensive some phpnuke themes can be, your internet connection will slow to a crawl.

    I would recommend getting a reseller account that has fantastico so you can offer that to your customers, since fantastico can install phpnuke with the click of a button.

  10. #10
    Ok, I get it, dont use Win XP for a server.
    Now will someone answer my question if I said that I'm running Suse Linux 9.0 Pro? (Because I have two servers!)
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    515
    I've never heard of any free software for setting up phpnuke.

    What control panel are you using for hosting? Cpanel has the option of a skeleton public_html, so you can load all the html files there, just leaving you to manually create the mysql database
    Keep your customers in the know with www.KnownOutage.com - free alerting software that you host. Did I mention that it's free?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,301
    You should check this link out
    http://www.phpnuke.org/
    "Web Hosting is not just about selling space, it is about facilitating customers needs with your plans and supporting the customer for a long lasting mutually beneficial relationship."- Yaser

  13. #13

    Cool

    Try ZPanel

    ( thezpanel.com )

  14. #14
    Is cPanel going over the limit for just PHPNuke hosting?
    And, I hate ZPanel.
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  15. #15
    Originally posted by joshlink01
    And, I hate ZPanel.
    Why?

  16. #16
    It is useless! When you try to create a program (lets say phpBB) it doesn't even set it up for you! You have to run the install script. And, in order for you to have the subdomain option (as the main domain, eg: domain.host.com) you have to put stuff in the Apache setup files. It doesn't even have FTP, POP3, or SMTP! You have to set that up your self. If you ask me, it is useless.
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    267
    Just because it does not automatically install scripts for you does not mean its useless. Direct Admin does not auto install scripts, Ensim without power tools does not either, so there both useless too are they?

    I mean come on it's free. What do you expect, yeah you may have to set up FTP, POP and SMTP. But that should only take a few hours out of your life. If you want a complete solution go to cPanel or Ensim as long as your willing to pay the prices that come with them.

  18. #18
    Sorry but I don't think this is a ZPanel disussion. I asked if there is a program that will auto-install PHP-Nuke so that I can host PHP-Nuke sites.
    The Domain Trading Network. Where you can trade your domain free!
    http://www.tdtn.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    267
    Originally posted by joshlink01
    It is useless! When you try to create a program (lets say phpBB) it doesn't even set it up for you! You have to run the install script.
    That says phpBB not phpNuke, also it would still be possible to write your own script to do this. So once again for a free solution it is not useless.

    However like you said this is not a ZPanel discussion. So, if you require a solution that auto installs phpNuke and at a low cost I would recommend Direct Admin with installatron.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •