Thread: php vs. htlm

php vs. htlm

Hello everyone.
    I am new to both web servers and wed design I am designing a site for my business but I am now hearing alot about php. I currently am using frontpage to design the site but I am woundering if I show switch to dreamweaver. Will this make the site easier to manage? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you steve

php is just a server side programming language. there is no "php vs html" as they are two entirelyl different beasts.

as for dreamweaver and frontpage - i think its a matter of personal preference. frontpage is easier I think for novices, dreamweaver would be for everyone else

html*
    ServeYourSite
    Web hosting done right
    ██ Shared, Reseller and Dedicated web hosting
    An Easy Web Presence Company

HTML is a static file. What this means is the information displayed to a user in a browser is always the same in an HTML file. Of course, there are some exceptions, like JavaScript, etc, but then technically it becomes Dynamic HTML or DHTML. HTML is in general faster than PHP because there's no "calcuation" involved before the file is returned to the visitor by the web server - the file is sent as is.

PHP is a dynamic scripting language. What this means that unlike HTML, data that is displayed is grabbed on the fly from a source, such as a database, and displayed as static data. The the visitor, both HTML and PHP appear the same when they open up the Source. PHP is generally more resource-intensive because usually, data must be obtained/generated from a source before a static copy of the file is returned to the visitor by the web server.

Hope this clears things up a little bit.
    Nokhrin - http://www.nokhrin.com/
    ~ e-commerce application development

First, wheter you use php, or html, has nothing to do with the program.

I recommend Dreamweaver MX or 2004.