Sending my server away...

Hey all! A person online I've been talking to for like 3 months has offered to host a server for me farily cheap. The problem is I don't want to send my server over, and have him steal it. What can I do to insure he will send it back when I want it and not take it for his own use. The only thing I can think of is I will have his address so I could alwals call the cops. Thanks.

Basically, you can't - how are you supposed to monitor his use of it? and how do you know thats he's real address, could be a PO Box for all you know.

One thing that I always say is that if you are unsure about something and have to ask around to see if your 'safe' there is a definite chance that your not. If you get bad vibes, don't send your server to someone you don't know, who knows what could happen.

I dont think he will do anything to it. It was just a concern. Also, I cant send a computer to a P.O Box.

Put a GPS tracking chip inside your server.
    Jean-Pierre Abboud / I'm the TekGURU
    www.Gotekky.com / Managed and Self-Managed hosting solutions
    Toll free: 1.888.915.4400 / Local: 1.514.316.1885 / Live chat
    Cloud VPS Hosting

do a background check on the dude. Search for his name on the net, if he's a wht member see what his rep is, or what other people that have dealt with him report.
    Get your certificate of knowification autographed by REW!
    Visit rewdog.com for details.

Does this guy have a website? A datacentre? Where will it be colocated at?
    ServeYourSite
    Web hosting done right
    ██ Shared, Reseller and Dedicated web hosting
    An Easy Web Presence Company

No he doesnt. He will be hsoting from home. But he gave me a pretty good deal becuase we do the same type of work.

I would be weary of that
    ServeYourSite
    Web hosting done right