* Help and opinions please (long lots of questions)

Ok, I am new to this and have what I think are reasonable goals. I have done a search, but it is difficult weeding though the results.

I own/design/operate 3 small websites at the moment and have another 5 or 6 in the works. My current host for these sites is a friend. I get ulimited HD space, and unlimited bandwidth, so that's nice.

There are a few problems though. He has a box colocated locally that is only on a T-1. In addition to his box they have around 5 or 6 other boxes. At first I didn't have an issue with this, but as time progressed things gradually slowed down for everyone. Since the place is local they have no plans on getting a fatter pipe. A few other things that are minor are that his box is IIS and while that is ok, getting him to install new software or change certain things is a pain. He also has no control panel whatsoever, so everything has to be done by him (subdomains, permissions, email accounts etc.). It took me 2 months to get him to install mySQL and PHP so I could run vBulletin. This puts a damper on my future plans.

With up to 9-10 sites I would like to host myself. Since I am a newbie at webhosting and servers (I know my way around computers, but running a server is different from what I hear), I think my best bet would be a managed linux dedicated server. Correct? My bandwidth usage wouldn't be all that much, but it'd be nice to know it's there so nothing slows down.

Here are some questions I have:

When getting a dedicated server, do they include a control panel like Cpanel and the like? If I decide to host a few small sites to help my costs on the server, is there an easy way (software based) for me to manage (setting them up, billing etc) that part? What happens is say in a year, I want to move everything on that dedicated server to a different one by a different company?