Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: VPS setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984

    VPS setup

    Normally whats the procedure for setting up a VPS, the software required. Hardware required? How mnay VPS per server for eg?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    We use nothing less that Dual CPU and 4GB Ram. Software dependso on how much you want to pay. Also for support make sure you have some very good sys admins..

    Rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  3. #3
    Greetings:

    Check out the FreeVPS system from Positive Software at http://www.psoft.net/

    Thank you.
    ---
    Peter M. Abraham
    LinkedIn Profile

  4. #4
    For other VPS solutions released under GNU check out :
    http://www.linux-vserver.org/ <-- Linux VServer Project
    http://user-mode-linux.sourceforge.net/ <-- User-mode Linux

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    Any of such software for Windows, I heard it was coming out, till now have not seen any of such

  6. #6
    Whatever comes out it won't be as stable on this platform as on Linux/BSD.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    141
    Microsoft has a beta of VirtualServer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    I heard of it but have not seen anyone using. Any URL that I can find this?

  9. #9
    Greetings:

    Windows VPS?

    Now every VPS can have the blue screen of death ;-)

    Sigh.
    ---
    Peter M. Abraham
    LinkedIn Profile

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    Blue Screen of Death was for Windows NT, for Windows 2000 it is much rarer although I would say it disappear altogether, but come on. Windows are improving. As a user of Windows NT I can vouch for that with my life that Windows 2003 is indeed an improvement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    141
    I agree... Win2k3 has come a long way.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    It has come a lot way but I still dun understand whenever I use SSS Vulnerability Scan it still says
    Description FTP Server has problem with bruteforce attack.
    How to fix Upgrade to the current version of your FTP Server.
    How do u fix that???? Or is it something we have to live with?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •