hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Software and Control Panels : Fedora + Cpanel .... Is it a good combination ?
Reply

Forum Jump

Fedora + Cpanel .... Is it a good combination ?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Software and Control Panels Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 91

Fedora + Cpanel .... Is it a good combination ?


Planning to get a new server with Fedora with Cpanel but not sure about the stability of cpanel on fedora.

Can anyone advise ?

Thanx



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
We have been running cPanel + Fedora for the past month and it has been rock solid. I was a bit worried at first but took the chance since Fedora is a fork of redhat its not like there trying to support a new OS.

So far so good, I will keep you updated on any caveats or hiccups if you like.


--Snark

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 183
We have a couple of servers with Fedora and Cpanel.. err. almost half a dozen and they are doing great. I would recommend jumping into Fedora/Cpanel with ease.

Fedora doesn't have pico installed, but that can be done manually in no time

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
iNET Senior Community Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 32,655
I'd have to echo the other two.

I was hesitant. But, we've not had any problems.

__________________
.
There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,616
Same experiences here... no major problems and have about three Fedora servers online. In fact, although I wouldn't say our RHES boxes have been problematic, they have shown more niggly issues than our Fedora boxes.

Quote:
Fedora doesn't have pico installed, but that can be done manually in no time
Just place a symlink for pico to nano. Both editors are very similar in usage.

__________________
Clook Internet
UK based web hosting, reseller accounts and fully managed dedicated and virtual servers! In our 12th year and counting...


  #6  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 158
Works just great.

As a CPanel distributor, we find that most company's today are using Fedora when they signup for a license.

__________________
Jeff F
BuyCPanel.com - Instant CPanel and VPS License Activations!
Lowest-Priced External CPanel Licenses
http://www.BuyCPanel.com

  #7  
Old
DDOS Mitigation Expert
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 650
40 Servers with No problem on Fedora

__________________
Server4Sale
Dedicated Server / DDOS Mitigation Expert

  #8  
Old
Been around for too long...
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: DC
Posts: 3,635
Fedora is solid as a rock I haven't seen or heard about any issues.

- Matt

  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,344
Quote:
Fedora doesn't have pico installed, but that can be done manually in no time
type nano (can you tell the difference?)

__________________
Reassuringly cynical and controversial - Twitter: @nonuby

  #10  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London/Edinburgh
Posts: 1,131
Hello.

I've not had any problems either, I was a bit worried but its all good
We now offer Fedora as our main choice of OS.

Regards,
Thomas Currie

__________________
Europhase UK Limited - XEN/OpenVZ UK/US Virtual Private Servers | R1Soft Backups for Web Hosts
Custom R1Soft Backups | UK/US Web Hosting | UK/US Virtual Private Servers
99.9% Uptime SLA | Non Overloaded Service | Guaranteed Ram / Resources
Company: SC345142 VAT: GB-947754180 Tel: 0870 4710 895

  #11  
Old
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanoi
Posts: 4,306
the only issue I have: cannot integrate Tomcat into cPanel Have to install manually.

  #12  
Old
Riiiiiiiiiiiiight...
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hollywood Proper, CA
Posts: 3,044
im glad pico isnt installed... it's worthless, use vi.

  #13  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 176
The people using Fedora and Cpanel are you using Core 1 or Core 2 ?

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,344
Core 2 hasnt been released yet, I'm running Test 3 locally, but I wouldnt dare use it on a server.

__________________
Reassuringly cynical and controversial - Twitter: @nonuby

  #15  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Core 1. I wouldn't use Core 2 on a production box.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Hulk Hogan's Hostamania Announces Partnership with cPanel Web Hosting News 2013-12-10 12:12:09
GoDaddy Supports cPanel as Part of Web Hosting Updates Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:20
What's New at cPanel: IPv6 and 1:1 NAT Support Web Hosting News 2013-10-01 18:12:07
cPanel & WHM Software 11.36 Reaches Stable Tier Status Web Hosting News 2013-04-09 11:44:33
Inerol Solutions Launches XEN VPS Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:46:53


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?