Unhappy Very Bad Experience With kcnetpro

I've been leasing a low-end dedicated server from for several months, and have been happy with the cost and the service. I recently received an email from them indicating that their core router needed to be replaced, and that the whole process would bring the data center down for roughly 10-30 minutes on Friday night.

On Saturday, I was looking at my advertising stats, and noticed that they were very low for the sites hosted on my server, so I went to log in and see if there was a problem. I couldn't log in, and the server would not respond to pings or traceroutes. I emailed kcnetpro support, and told them so. I figured that something had gone slightly wrong when setting up their router.

I received an email saying that Tony from kcnetpro could see my site and successfully ping my server. So I tried again. No dice. Then I googled "ping gateway" and tried pinging (and tracerouting) from about 8 different places around the world. I logged into my machine at work, and tried accessing my server from there. No luck from any of these attempts. I documented all of this, and mailed back to kcnetpro support. And waited...

The next day (Sunday), I get an email from Tony saying that he doesn't want to fix the connectivity of my server, but rather wants to assign a new block of IP addresses to it. He asked me for my root password, which I gave him. He immediately got back to me and indicated that he couldn't SSH into the root account (This is the point where I became sure that I was dealing with someone who was operating entirely beyond their capabilities). Of course he couldn't SSH into the root account. You can only access the root account from the console, or via 'su'. I emailed back, explaining how the 'su' command worked (!?), and waited nervously. And waited...