Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283

    Person can't reach my web site.

    My friend cannot reach one of my web sites. He sent me his IP and asked to check if he was in my IP deny manager and I know that's not the case.

    He sees my web site like it is down all the time.

    How can I solve the issue?

    Best,
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    5,383
    Ask your host to run a trace from their server to your clients IP
    Clustered Hosting With Continuous Data Protection (CDP)
    http://www.solidinternet.com
    8 Years of hosting excellence!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    504
    Go to Command Prompt:
    tracert domain.com
    Make note where it stops, and notify.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Do I have to trace his IP or my web site?

    I traced my web site he cannot reach for now.


    Tracing route to theworldjournal.com [64.246.11.85]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.123.254
    2 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms 10.21.0.1
    3 5 ms 5 ms 6 ms modemcable121.243-200-24.mc.videotron.ca [24.200
    .243.121]
    4 7 ms 5 ms 8 ms 10.154.0.26
    5 15 ms 5 ms 7 ms ia-cduc-bb02-ge8-0.vtl.net [207.96.163.17]
    6 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms ia-piex-bb02-ge2-0.vtl.net [207.96.210.132]
    7 7 ms 6 ms 7 ms if-7-0.core1.Montreal.Teleglobe.net [207.45.204.
    21]
    8 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms if-6-0.core1.Newark.Teleglobe.net [64.86.84.185]

    9 13 ms 13 ms 14 ms if-7-0.core2.Newark.Teleglobe.net [207.45.222.16
    2]
    10 15 ms 13 ms 56 ms p4-2-0-0.r00.nwrknj01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.9
    .229]
    11 15 ms 15 ms 14 ms p16-3-0-0.r01.nwrknj01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    4.22]
    12 21 ms 15 ms 15 ms p64-0-0-0.r21.nycmny01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    2.33]
    13 19 ms 19 ms 20 ms p16-1-0-1.r21.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.99]
    14 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms p64-0-0-0.r20.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    2.34]
    15 37 ms 52 ms 51 ms p16-0-1-1.r21.dllstx09.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.34]
    16 38 ms 64 ms 36 ms p16-2-0-0.r01.atlnga03.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.17]
    17 62 ms 56 ms 60 ms p16-1-0-2.r20.dllstx09.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    4.194]
    18 57 ms 57 ms 63 ms p16-6-0-0.r00.hstntx01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.5]
    19 56 ms 58 ms 60 ms ge-1.ev1.hstntx01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.10.70
    ]
    20 61 ms 60 ms 56 ms esmat.micfo.com [64.246.11.85]

    Trace complete.
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    222
    We need to see his traceroute since he is having the problems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Originally posted by jasonl813
    We need to see his traceroute since he is having the problems.
    Thank you. I will work on it.
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    504
    You need to have him do that on his computer, tracing your site.
    tracert yourdomain.com
    So, just have him do that in his command prompt, and post the results here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX USA
    Posts
    68
    Is the site hosted by a web hosting company or at a home, possibly behind a router?
    Jim Whitesell
    Professional Internet
    www.proi.net

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Originally posted by Whitesell
    Is the site hosted by a web hosting company or at a home, possibly behind a router?
    By a company, Jim. I asked the person to make a traceroute.
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX USA
    Posts
    68
    Ok, I was wondering since I'm having a similar problem with a site a friend is hosting at home and I suspect is it a router misconfiguration. I thought these two situations could be the same issue, but they aren't since the site you are working on is not self-hosted.

    I was hoping I could help!
    Jim Whitesell
    Professional Internet
    www.proi.net

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,375
    Both are working from Videotron (Same as you Art.).
    Charles Beliveau | NymixWeb.com
    Proven success since 2001!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Originally posted by UltimeWWW
    Both are working from Videotron (Same as you Art.).
    Well, that is a very Canadian thing to do.
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX USA
    Posts
    68
    theworldjournal.com is available here in Texas, too...
    Jim Whitesell
    Professional Internet
    www.proi.net

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Jim, thank you for the effort, but I think there is gotta be an issue on that person's end.
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •