hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Advertising Forums : Community Reviews : Web Site Reviews : Be easy on me...

Forum Jump

Be easy on me...

Reply Post New Thread In Web Site Reviews Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2000, 10:26 PM

Unhappy

Be gentle...

I'm self taught and have been hobbying with html for 4 years now and was wondering what you pros think of my site.

http://www.wcvw.org

FWIW, I know there are major issues with IE3 (and probably N3 as well.) A minor part is table centering, but the big one is I've switched to PNG files. (Stupid software patent...) Shouldn't affect 4.0+ browsers though, and I've only had 2 v.3 visitors since I started tracking 3 months ago. (And I was one of them, from work.)

My main goals were a quick load time and an organized layout.

Oh, and Stuart, I'll just review it for you:
Quote:
"I didn't like it. It loaded too quickly."
Thanks guys!

Diecast Cars

Sponsored Links
Old 10-21-2000, 12:20 AM
Junior Guru Wannabe

Perhaps you shd consider paid hosting to get the ugly oversized ad banner out of the way! hehe

Other than that, site looks pretty good.. except the "best" logo @ the bottom of your left menu looks rather "out of place"? And I think the text on the main box are too close to the borders, making the page look quite messy.

Ermm... may I confess.. after looking through your website, I still have no idea what a "Water-Cooled" Volkswagen is?? Am I stupid? Can I still live??

Old 10-22-2000, 11:10 PM

Don't feel stupid... I'm here to help. The early VWs (Beetle, Thing, ...) have engines that are cooled by air (no radiator.) Starting with the Rabbit, VW switched to conventional "water" (antifreeze) engine cooling.

The "Best" logo is a rotating ad button. My only sponsor at the moment, so you can't really tell. I make that 120x60 hastily because he only had a full size banner. I think we're going to change it soon.