Question synchronizing servers

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here and I just wanted to say hi before I dove into the heart of my issue. Also, you should know a little about me. I am a hobbyist. I've been an avid follower of the web for about 8 years. I excel in html, graphic design, css, perl and php. I'm not trying to start a business or anything. I am doing this for the fun of it. I have set up an apache 2.0 server with mysql 4.0 and php 4.3. I don't even have a dns server setup or a static ip yet. But I'm getting two in the next week or so in two different locations. One at my place and one at my parents'.

Heres the meat of the issue. I want to have two servers for redundancy. I don't know how to synchronize the two servers dynamically so that as soon as one's files or folders change it fixes it on the other server. Since this is a hobby and not a for profit venture, I'd rather do it the cheap hard way than the expensive easy way if you get my drift. I learn more that way, which is really what I'm after.

The best way to go depends on if you truely need to synchronize the WHOLE server or just certain content. rsync and NFS mounts are popular ways to syncronize. With rsync, you would generally have some delays in syncrhonization while with NFS mounts, you see changes on both servers instantly (only problem is, your data would exist only on one actual disk and it would get mounted remotely. You can then copy files from it to a local partition, but there would still be some type of delay). There are plenty of rsync and NFS tutorials out there waiting for you at http://google.com.
    H4Y Technologies LLC Check out our new website!
    "Smarter, Cheaper, Faster" - SMB, Reseller, VDS, Dedicated, Colo hosting done right.

ZERO PACKETLOSS, ZERO DOWNTIME Dedicated and Colo - USA: IA, CA, NC, OR, NV
    **http://h4y.us**
    Voice: (866)435-5642. *** Email: askus at host4yourself d0t com