apache web server

i've looked around a bit and it looks like this is the best place for this post--sorry if it shouldn't be here.

i'm trying to figure out how to host a domain name from my win xp computer. i've set up apache, and i have a stable IP, and i have the domain name. when i tried to change the nameserver of my domain to my stable IP it said it was 'unable to verify existence of nameserver'.

i'm totally new to apache, and really i'm just trying to figure out what it does. i've spent hours looking for info on the net that will just show me how to use apache. all the sites assume that i already know how to make apache serve.

so far, i have a 'website' up under my IP. stuff in my htdocs folder shows up when you type in my IP online. what i really want is for that to show up when you type in my domain name.

i feel like i'm pretty close to this: can anyone help me out?

br

I think you should have a dns server software installed on your pc in order to use it as a name server.

Why don't you use a redirect to your static IP, instead of giving it as a nameserver ?
    YasHost.com
    Cheap Dedicated Servers - Fully Managed, cPanel/WHM Included FOR FREE

so apache cant' do what i want? are you sure?

i was looking through the apache help files and stuff... it keeps talking about virtural hosts, and though i odn't understand what it's saying, its talking about domain names and stuff.

b

Apache can only provide webhosting. You need a dns/nameserver for your domain name.
    The DNS/Nameserver gives the ip address for your domain name/apache server to the client requesting it which then connects to apache.

Originally posted by brentonboy
    so apache cant' do what i want? are you sure?

i was looking through the apache help files and stuff... it keeps talking about virtural hosts, and though i odn't understand what it's saying, its talking about domain names and stuff.

b