Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 57
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257

    How's Ezzi Lately?

    How's EZZI doing lately for uptime and what not?

    Thank you!
    eXeGaming : Professional Gaming Organization

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    I tried them this month, and I've never seen a network this poor. My server can't handle more than 16 players. What a joke. I put a ticket in, and they tell me I must be overloading the machine...

    There you have it. Up to you now.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    441
    I wouldn't recommend them either anymore. They've really gone down hill. I've already moved my servers away from EZZI.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Rahil,

    Can you be more specific on how we have gone down hill? We have had nothing but 100% uptime and we recently implemented a complete Netscreen intrusion detection and prevention system to protect against dDoS attacks and a complete firewall system.

    I am sure you have noticed that there have been no dDoS attacks and no downtime at all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Posts
    33,190
    Yeh. That's strange. We've been with ezzi for three years. The network's never been better.
    There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

  6. #6
    I"ve had no problems either.
    Robin Alex
    At your service....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,974
    Sounds weird

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,571
    Hey iam with EZZI and id have to say there the best for me now, and thats my opinion.

    Keep it up EZZI!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,274
    Originally posted by Rahil
    I wouldn't recommend them either anymore. They've really gone down hill. I've already moved my servers away from EZZI.
    Agreed. Worst company I have ever used (online)
    hm what should I put in my sig?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    a lot of mixed post in total opposite directions
    eXeGaming : Professional Gaming Organization

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    Originally posted by jaali
    a lot of mixed post in total opposite directions
    Probably because different people use the servers for different applications. Maybe if you do web hosting on them you won't notice how bad it is. When you run game servers that's where you see the real performance.

  12. #12
    i use them for game servers for 2 years now :-X
    Robin Alex
    At your service....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    We have a lot of game servers on the network that run without any problems. I know some that have contacted us about lag and we upgraded their machines and the problems went away.

    You will always have mixed reviews for all data centers, this is one reason why we offered a week trial for a long time and is something we will do for anyone that has doubts. We stopped advertising trials as of this month because we have been trying to slow down new orders.

    Some people on this forum have been kicked off our network for breaking our TOS (IRC, spamming, etc...) and because of that they threaten to "put us out of business" by bashing us. Nothing we can do about that.

    Who you listen to or not listen to is up to everyone individually, but we havent been around this long for screwing people over or being the "worst provider", we only get better by having a better network as well as having top of the line servers.

    We had some problems last year, but our network has been very stable since we did all the upgrades at the end of last year.

    We changed our whole core network admin team and upgraded all of our core equipment, plus brought in many providers to make the network better.

    We have also implemented an entire Netscreen solution to stop dDoS attacks as well as a complete firewall solution, which we get praise on everyday.

    The EZZI Companies have actually quadrupled in size in the last year, you can listen to an interview that our CEO did with the WallStreet Reporter here - http://www.wallstreetreporter.com/profiles/Ezzi.html

    Mods if this is not allowed to be posted, please let me know.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,571


    nice interview

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    Reference # 722899018
    Date Posted 03/22/04 11:25:14 AM
    Topic Quick Question
    Status Complete
    Subject Game server choke/loss
    Description Hi,

    I bought this server to do some game hosting. Yesterday I've ran a test server and noticed a lot of choke/loss (half-life) and I'm wondering if there is any way to optimize this connection somehow. I run many game servers in a lot of other locations and I don't experience this, so I'm thinking maybe there can be some configuration done on the switches/etc.. I don't know really. It's not due to cpu usage or anything like that, as I only had one game server running on the box the whole night plus I monitor the server http://66.199.227.18:5555 if you want to see cpu usage stats/network usage stats..

    Also as a second question, I noticed 32 megs of ram were lost probably for a built-in video card or something like that, is there any way to set it to only 2 megs or something, I don't need 32 megs of video ram and would rather have more memory available to the system.

    Thanks for your help.




    Trouble Ticket Reply



    It isnt the network that is causing the loss. The server has 512MB RAM in it right?

    POSTED BY: Phil Smith
    POSTED: 03/22/2004 4:30:23 PM


    The machine has over 300 megs ram free, it's definately not a computer problem, it has to be outside the computer. I run multiple game servers with the same setup and I don't have any choke/loss at any other locations.

    Like I said, I'm only running 1 instance too on this machine, while in other locations i run 3 or more even on the same machine and still no choke/loss.

    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 03/22/2004 5:20:06 PM


    Are you running pingplotter or anything to try to pinpoint where the problem could be?

    POSTED BY: Phil Smith
    POSTED: 03/22/2004 5:55:34 PM


    Ok, here's a traceroute showing some lag/loss

    1 9 ms 9 ms 7 ms 10.58.32.1
    2 16 ms 9 ms 32 ms gw01.mtwd.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.89.65]
    3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms gw02.wlfdle.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.81.230]
    4 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms gw01.mtun.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.81.234]
    5 9 ms 10 ms 12 ms gw01.esna.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.81.242]
    6 13 ms 9 ms 9 ms gw02.bloor.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66.185.80.194]
    7 9 ms 11 ms 10 ms 66.185.92.38
    8 11 ms 12 ms 11 ms rogers-gw.peer1.net [216.187.68.217]
    9 13 ms 13 ms 10 ms GIG4-0.tor-core-b.peer1.net [216.187.68.69]
    10 22 ms 22 ms 22 ms OC48POS0-0.nyc-gsr-a.peer1.net [216.187.123.62]
    11 35 ms 340 ms 291 ms peer1-nyc-gw.ezzi [65.39.204.242]
    12 64 ms 47 ms 46 ms 65.125.239.41
    13 53 ms 49 ms 53 ms 65.125.239.129
    14 * 38 ms 34 ms 65.125.239.67
    15 35 ms 32 ms * 66.199.227.18
    16 44 ms 41 ms 35 ms 66.199.227.18


    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 03/23/2004 4:51:53 PM


    I have run traceroutes all over the country and was not able to duplicate your loss, please let us know if you continue to see a problem.

    POSTED BY: Tracy
    POSTED: 03/23/2004 8:56:13 PM


    There is still a problem from certain places.. it seems to always be on the hops inside the ezzi network though. here's a second traceroute, and you'll see where the ping jumps.

    Tracing route to 66.199.227.18 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 10.228.60.1
    2 9 ms 8 ms 7 ms 24.31.1.166
    3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 24.31.2.81
    4 23 ms 20 ms 21 ms 12.126.248.117
    5 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms tbr1-p012701.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.2.222]
    6 40 ms 41 ms 41 ms tbr1-cl1.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.10.1]
    7 40 ms 39 ms 40 ms gar1-p3100.nwrnj.ip.att.net [12.123.214.181]
    8 40 ms 41 ms 40 ms att-gige.esd1.nwr.nac.net [12.119.140.26]
    9 41 ms 40 ms 40 ms 2.ge-0-0-0.gbr1.nwr.nac.net [209.123.11.213]
    10 41 ms 42 ms 42 ms 0.so-3-2-0.gbr1.nyc.nac.net [209.123.11.125]
    11 37 ms 38 ms 38 ms 95.gi4-7.esd1.nyc.nac.net [64.21.102.6]
    12 42 ms 41 ms 41 ms 10.gi1-1.esd1.tlw.nac.net [209.123.11.230]
    13 37 ms 38 ms 38 ms ezzinet.customer.nac.net [66.246.115.242]
    14 45 ms 46 ms 45 ms rtr1-2-1000M.KS01.LIBTC.ezzi.net [65.125.239.18]
    15 46 ms 46 ms 44 ms 65.125.239.38
    16 99 ms 243 ms 256 ms 65.125.239.129
    17 48 ms 46 ms 45 ms 65.125.239.67
    18 44 ms 44 ms 42 ms 66.199.227.18

    Trace complete.



    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 03/24/2004 6:13:34 PM


    Our network admin has made some changes, please let us know if the improvement in performance did not reach your server.

    POSTED BY: Tracy
    POSTED: 03/24/2004 9:52:20 PM


    Tonight it was getting 20 loss 60 choke for everyone on the server, very bad network performance and it isnt something I can run game servers with.

    If you cannot do anything I will have to cancel the server. thanks.

    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 03/26/2004 1:26:16 AM


    If you are getting that much loss on the server than you are overloading it. There are no problems on our end. Try seeing if the loss only occurs when you have too many people on

    POSTED BY: Phil Smith
    POSTED: 03/27/2004 3:47:03 PM


    Here's a good sample, now don't tell me the server is "overloaded", as I stated before, there was only one instance of half-life running at the time. I run a game server business, and I know what I'm doing.

    Here's the interesting portion:
    Target Name: ny3.konspiracy.org
    IP: 66.199.227.18
    Date/Time: 4/4/2004 4:47:31 PM to 4/4/2004 4:47:40 PM

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms [216.187.127.2]
    2 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms Gig1-0.mtl-core-a.peer1.net [216.187.90.5]
    3 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms OC48POS0-0.nyc-gsr-b.peer1.net [216.187.123.234]
    4 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms GIG5-0.nyc-gsr-d.peer1.net [216.187.123.10]
    5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms OC48POS0-0.nyc-gsr-c.peer1.net [216.187.123.1]
    6 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms GIG6-0.nyc-gsr-a.peer1.net [216.187.123.17]
    7 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms peer1-nyc-gw.ezzi [65.39.204.242]
    8 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms 164 ms 282 ms 58 ms 232 ms 11 ms [65.125.239.41]
    9 12 ms 14 ms 13 ms 11 ms 15 ms 14 ms 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms [65.125.239.129]
    10 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms 16 ms 15 ms 12 ms 15 ms * 16 ms * EDGZ-SERVER [66.199.227.18]

    Ping statistics for ny3.konspiracy.org
    Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 8, Lost = 2 (20.0%)
    Round Trip Times: Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 14ms

    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 04/04/2004 4:49:55 PM


    as you can see from the post above, there is obvious lag spikes on hop 8 and obvious packet loss on hop 10.

    POSTED BY: Steve Rabouin
    POSTED: 04/04/2004 4:50:54 PM


    The high ping is not loss, that is normal on any router running CEF. The * is where the loss is, which is on your IP which means its on the server itself. Are you only seeing issues when the server is fully loaded? If it is try taking some people off the server and seeing if the problem goes away.

    POSTED BY: Phil Smith
    POSTED: 04/06/2004 9:45:38 PM


    ------------

    i dunno, but when i get support like this i can just lol ... i'm not trying to put down your company or anything, just giving my personal experience.

    If issues are always handled like this one, it's definately not somewhere i would recommend someone to go. I put a cancel request couple days ago after just hmm, 2 weeks of usage. I had read good reviews lately, and though hey.. lets try them! Lost some money there for no reason, on a server none of my customers would want to be.
    Last edited by ruiner; 04-22-2004 at 03:19 PM.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376

  17. #17
    Originally posted by ruiner

    The high ping is not loss, that is normal on any router running CEF. The * is where the loss is, which is on your IP which means its on the server itself. Are you only seeing issues when the server is fully loaded? If it is try taking some people off the server and seeing if the problem goes away.

    POSTED BY: Phil Smith
    POSTED: 04/06/2004 9:45:38 PM
    phil,

    c'mon now. packet loss on the last hop could be a problem with *anything* between your last layer 3 switch and the server, ie the last layer 3 switch itself, distrib switch, cabling, or the server. i would investigate this further, rather than dismissing it out of hand.

    ruiner, you may want to run pingplotter. it will help pinpoint the cause.

    paul
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North Carolina USA
    Posts
    414
    We have been with Ezzi for just under a year now and even though they have had a few issues here and there, I have no plans to leave.

    Phil (aka ispclub.com) is one of the easiest to deal with and fairest people I have run into in the entire industry. He goes above and beyond on a regular basis.

    As for the network and servers, yes they have had some issues over the past 6-8 months. Some their fault and some not. But when you consider they have been in business for 12+ years, I personally feel a few growing pains along the way are to be expected. Every problem they have had I have always seen an honest effort to eliminate very quickly and over the past 3 months we have had awesome uptime. They continue to improve and upgrade to make things better.

    Are they perfect? NO. Then again, no DC is I don't care who they are or what they claim. It's a fact of life that when you deal with electronic equipment, multiple connections in a network and constant upgrades, things will happen and hardware will fail. There is no such thing as 100% uptime... eventually ALL hardware will wear out or become faulty which results in downtime. Plus, when you deal with anywhere between 5 and 10000+ network hops and physical connections associated with them between the servers and the end user, in many cases the "downtime" isn't even within the DC's control other than re-routing of the data flow.

    So, we are sticking with them and plan to for a long time. I would gladly recommend them to anyone who asks and do so with no reservations because they have always taken care of us. I can't speak for how others have been treated or their experiences, I can only speak from ours.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    Thanks for the offer, but it's a bit late now -- and it's not a ram issue, as i said, there were over 300mb available ram during the tests i've done.
    ruiner, you may want to run pingplotter. it will help pinpoint the cause.

    paul
    Yeah, I've done that, that's the last post i put on the trouble ticket, then i just said.. oh well, lets just cancel it's pointless to argue when you get those sort of replies.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    179
    oh i didn't know ispclub was Phil, Hey! Anyway i been with ezzi for a year now Have been doing Rent to owns since then. There is ocasional network problems which affect my server. The overall service with ezzi is good and IF ANYTHING their network got better NOT worse. A couple months ago the network had alot of ddos problems and now it seems to has cleared up. I will be staying with ezzi after my rent to own ends. I am happy with their service lately and cannot complain. As for the game server end I run a webserver, ventrilo server, 3 20 player cs servers. I had some lag issues but this was due to ram which i noticed on my own.. I logged into ssh and typed "top" and it gave me the available ram which was below 1000k when lagging. I upgraded to 1.5gb total now and I have yet to notice lag on anything. As for the network I am also having those last hop problems. I havent noticed any decrease in performance, but im curious as to waht that means? You guys said you rebooted a router and the bgp tables were loading up or something. and lastly want to add ezzi's support got from decient from when i started a year back to one of the best (In my opinion). Tickets are responeded to within minutes, and in real emergencies i was even able to call with a live person always picking up. Thanks Ezzi!

    As for your problems, I suggest trying a different server with them if you can really not figure out the problem. Setup fees are low.
    Last edited by mh3network; 04-22-2004 at 03:37 PM.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Originally posted by rusko
    phil,

    c'mon now. packet loss on the last hop could be a problem with *anything* between your last layer 3 switch and the server, ie the last layer 3 switch itself, distrib switch, cabling, or the server. i would investigate this further, rather than dismissing it out of hand.

    ruiner, you may want to run pingplotter. it will help pinpoint the cause.

    paul
    Hey Rusko, always a pleasure when you stop by

    Any customer that comes to us with lag, we always run tests on their servers and other servers to see what is going on and to see if its the switch, network, server, or whatever.

    When the lag is on the last hop it is the server that is causing the issue, it doesnt go backwards... you will see loss before the last hop if it is on a router, this is very clear in pingplotter.

    Everyone here has pingplotter running and other forms of monitoring and we know when and where there are issues if any come up.

    When one customer comes to us and says, hey I have lag it is 9 times out of 10 an issue with their server or local to their machine.

    We do not try to just push the problem on the customer, where would that get us. We want everyone to have a good experience and any problems that exist to get taken care of.

    But we all know you do not like us for whatever reason. As you can see your last big thread, as well as any other threads about you, we dont say one word and never will.

    But hey, its all good... appreciate the attention you give us. I feel the love man, I really do.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Originally posted by ruiner
    Thanks for the offer, but it's a bit late now -- and it's not a ram issue, as i said, there were over 300mb available ram during the tests i've done.
    Yeah, I've done that, that's the last post i put on the trouble ticket, then i just said.. oh well, lets just cancel it's pointless to argue when you get those sort of replies.

    ruiner, I can offer you a free month on a Dell server, I see you were on an XP2400, and lets see if we can get whatever problems you had taken care of. If everything is great I will get you at a price point you will be happy with. If not, then we at least tried.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    I can only wish you guys had tried to be helpful earlier in the case, but I am glad to see you guys trying to help now -- make sure you put this machine on the "good network" side, and I'll be happy to testdrive this one more time and hopefully the problem will be resolved.

    Though, again, I don't think the XP2400 would be the problem, as I have 6 XP2400 at serverbeach, never ran into any loss/choke on any of them.

    Please contact me directly and we can make some arrangements.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,038
    Originally posted by ruiner
    I have 6 XP2400 at serverbeach

    Maybe you should update your website?

    Machines: Intel Dual Xeon 2.4 w/ 1 GIG Ram

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    Maybe you should read..

    Montreal, Quebec
    Bandwidth provider: Peer1 (Directly in peer1 Montreal building!)
    Test IP: 66.199.147.150:27015 (tfc) 66.199.147.152:27015 (cstrike)
    Machines: Intel Dual Xeon 2.4 w/ 1 GIG Ram

    Dallas, Texas
    Bandwidth providers: UUNet, Level 3, Verio, Time Warner, Global Crossings, Allegiance Telecom, AboveNet (all GigE)
    Test IP: 69.56.247.211:27015 (tfc) 69.93.86.238:27015 (DoD)
    Machines: Intel Dual Xeon 2.4 w/ 1 GIG Ram and some P4 2.4 that will be upgraded soon.

    NYC
    Bandwidth providers: Peer1, Cable&Wireless, Level3 (all GigE)
    Test IP: 69.28.209.35:27015 (tfc)
    Machines: Intel Pentium IV 2.4

    Virginia
    Bandwidth providers: Williams Communications
    Test IP: 69.44.154.9:27015 (tfc)
    Machines: AMD Athlon 2200 with 1 GIG Ram


    thanks for caring

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    118
    Originally posted by ispclub.com
    ruiner

    Server should be up tomorrow, will contact you then.
    Thanks for your help, it's appreciated.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Well i've never been with ezzi been thinking bout trying them though and i must say ispclub ("phil"?) seems like he really cares about his business and his customers and trys to help them in any way he can damn a free server for a month thats a loss for him of over 100$

    not bad in my opinion but ya in some case i agree things might not work out.
    eXeGaming : Professional Gaming Organization

  29. #29
    Originally posted by ispclub.com
    Hey Rusko, always a pleasure when you stop by
    welcome.


    When the lag is on the last hop it is the server that is causing the issue, it doesnt go backwards... you will see loss before the last hop if it is on a router, this is very clear in pingplotter.
    this is *technically* incorrect. first off, if a device at hop X is randomly dropping packets, a packet could be shown as lost at hop Y on the traceroute, where Y is several hops after X , because the device at hop X dropped that icmp/udp packet and not the previous ones. second off, there are a bunch of devices that can sit between the router and the server, such as regular switches. if you have ACLs on those switches and cpu is at a hundred, it will lose packets and the loss will show on the last hop. these are just examples - there are other scenarios where you will see the same symptoms and the cause is not always the endsystem.


    Everyone here has pingplotter running and other forms of monitoring and we know when and where there are issues if any come up.
    pingplotter is the best a client can do without having enable on your distrib switches, for example. you *do* have enable, so checking them out can't hurt.


    When one customer comes to us and says, hey I have lag it is 9 times out of 10 an issue with their server or local to their machine.
    this does not justify dismissing his claim, since, as you said, 1 out of 10 times it is *not* the endsystem.


    But we all know you do not like us for whatever reason. As you can see your last big thread, as well as any other threads about you, we dont say one word and never will.
    i just corrected a technical fact. if you have a technical rebuttal to my correction, i am all ears. as far as my last 'big thread', it was the only negative thread about us and i believe i represented our side of the story well. in any case, that has little to do with the matter at hand.


    But hey, its all good... appreciate the attention you give us. I feel the love man, I really do.
    as i stated previously, i have nothing against you at all. i do, on occasion, correct technical inaccuracies posted by other members of this community. some of those members happen to represent other providers. i fail to see why that should affect my decision to help other members out by correcting that which is erroneous.

    paul
    Last edited by rusko; 04-23-2004 at 12:11 AM.
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    2,514
    Maybe there was a faulty NIC in ruiner's system.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376

  32. #32
    Well since their website went down yesterday I'm not so confident.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    179
    was their website down? I didn't notice it.

  34. #34
    Yup I monitor it from 3 uptime services.

  35. #35
    Hey Phil, I was/is having the same problem with loss on the last hop, but usually it was on other hops. Could you have someone maybe look at all the switches/routers between my server (and this other person's server) to see where the problem lyes?

    Also, with that new ram upgrade, it helped a little bit, but im still getting some loss just not as bad as before, still testing it out though trying to figure out where the problem is.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Originally posted by propcgamer
    Hey Phil, I was/is having the same problem with loss on the last hop, but usually it was on other hops. Could you have someone maybe look at all the switches/routers between my server (and this other person's server) to see where the problem lyes?

    Also, with that new ram upgrade, it helped a little bit, but im still getting some loss just not as bad as before, still testing it out though trying to figure out where the problem is.
    Yes I worked with you for a while on your machine. You actually sent in the reports that showed your machine was getting loss and another machine on the same rack wasnt.

    If adding the RAM helped, then that confirms it is the machine. You are using an XP2100, not a machine I would recommend pushing too much gaming traffic on. Plus the RAM for those machines are slower than the machines we put in the Dells.

    Only problem is your machine only takes 1GB of RAM. I know you have been a customer for a while so what I can do help you out is upgrade you to a Dell for the same price.

    If you want to take me up on this offer send me an email and we can get you taken care of.

  37. #37
    Phil any comment on your website being down yesterday?

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Potsdam, NY
    Posts
    646
    This is the same crap that was pulled on me about 3 months ago from another company at NAC-OCT. They blamed the PL on the server but when I moved it to peer1 it magically went away

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    376
    Originally posted by 2uantuM
    This is the same crap that was pulled on me about 3 months ago from another company at NAC-OCT. They blamed the PL on the server but when I moved it to peer1 it magically went away

    Not sure how this is the same when you dealt was a different company. 2 of our customers have posted in this thread that their lags stopped once their servers were upgraded.

    Maybe it was the server that you had and the problem was something local like the ethernet cable or card, duplux issue, firewall, etc...

    Loss can come from a bunch of things, doesnt always mean it is the network. But of course in your case the company could have been trying to cover up as well.

    We have no interest in trying to cover things up. All that would do is make customers upset and angry when problems persist. Would rather tell them from the beginning the network isnt good for gaming and not go through the hassel and have negative attitudes towards the company.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Potsdam, NY
    Posts
    646
    Loss can come from a bunch of things, doesnt always mean it is the network. But of course in your case the company could have been trying to cover up as well.
    It was the network. We changed the ethernet can;es. there were no firewalls involved, and there were no duplex issues. It was the same scenario but with a different company. Does that make sense?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •