Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508

    remote access question

    i am at work behind a firewall.
    is there anyway I can connect to my home PC using VNC or PcAnywhere.

    both are currently running on my home computer.
    I wish to access my computer in some way.

    any ideas?

    thanks
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    http://www.tightvnc.com/

    Run TightVNC on a port that isn't being filtered by your work's firewall.

  3. #3
    I use TightVNC as well. It's great If you have to, run it on port 80 on your home computer, 80 outbound should be open at work right?
    Dan Grossman - dan @ awio.com
    My Blog | Affiliate Program for Web Hosts

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    what's the difference between TightVNC and VNC ?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  5. #5
    Different compression algorithms is all.
    Dan Grossman - dan @ awio.com
    My Blog | Affiliate Program for Web Hosts

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    so regular VNC won't work if I'm behind a firewall at work, but TightVNC will if I use port 80 ?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    anyone know how to setup VNC to work on port 80 so I can connect from my office to my home ...
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,030
    Chances are that will not work unless you kill processes that run off of the data on port 80. << I think I said that right.

    Anyway, you'd be better off just getting a sysadmin to open some ports...
    CybexHost.com - Shared and Reseller Hosting Solutions on cPanel/WHM Linux Servers
    ModernTweak.com - Discount ModernBill Licenses, Hosted Installations, and Professional Services
    :: Pay for your discount ModernBill license with PayPal
    :: admin[at]cybexhost.com :: AIM: CybexH

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    any other suggestions for remotely accessing my home computer ... i don't think i can get a sysadmin to open any ports..
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  10. #10
    TightVNC has a web version (built in). Set it to port 80 at home and you go to http://yourhomeip from work.
    Dan Grossman - dan @ awio.com
    My Blog | Affiliate Program for Web Hosts

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Originally posted by Dan Grossman
    TightVNC has a web version (built in). Set it to port 80 at home and you go to http://yourhomeip from work.
    yes, can you tell me how i can set up tightvnc server to port 80 ?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  12. #12
    Right click on its icon in your tray and go to properties/settings. You can figure it out from there.
    Dan Grossman - dan @ awio.com
    My Blog | Affiliate Program for Web Hosts

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    it says ports Main and HTTP .. do i set them both to 80 ?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  14. #14
    No. Choose one. If you want to try the browser way set HTTP to 80.
    Dan Grossman - dan @ awio.com
    My Blog | Affiliate Program for Web Hosts

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Originally posted by Dan Grossman
    No. Choose one. If you want to try the browser way set HTTP to 80.
    Thanks .. sorry to sound like such a novice, but just wanted to get this thing right as I had so much trouble today.

    so I set port http to 80 and main to 5900
    I can try this from work with

    http://myip.com:80 correct?


    thanks again
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    any suggestions?
    i just tried http://myip.com:80
    did not work
    my tight vnc server at home is set to main port 5900
    http port 80
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •