Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Blocking a Site

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    94

    Blocking a Site

    Hi there! How do you make it so that a certain computer can't access a certain website? The browsers I use are Netscape and very rarely Internet Explorer.

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    i think norton internet security has parental controls which can use to disable access to certain websites.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kissimmee, FL
    Posts
    57
    you can do that by editing the hosts file on your computer.

    it should be in Windows/system32/drivers/etc

    say you wanna block yahoo.com, add the following lines:

    127.0.0.1 yahoo.com
    127.0.0.1 www.yahoo.com

    that should do the trick
    -Andre, MidFloridaWebServices, LLC
    >> Shared & Reseller hosting
    >> friendly & honest service

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    You could always open up your hosts file and point the domain to 127.0.0.1

    C:\WINDOWS DIR\system32\drivers\etc > 'hosts'

    Add this:

    127.0.0.1 DELETEDDOMAIN.COM
    Last edited by RDX1; 04-19-2004 at 05:28 PM.
    Don't look for a way out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Satyr, Chrisalya, Canada
    Posts
    1,901
    That was posted above
    --

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    Sorry. I was away and did not reload the window. I thought I did but I only reloaded the one tab that was open. To think I wasted 2 minutes of my time on something that was already said. I need to leave now though.
    Don't look for a way out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    94
    Hey guys, sorry to bring this back from the dead, but this method of blocking a website doesn't seem to be working. I enter:

    127.0.0.1 deleteddomain.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.deleteddomain.com

    And it doesn't work. I am entering this into the hosts file in Windows>system32>drivers>etc

    Anyone know what's wrong?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    you don't include the http://

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •