Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Duluth MN
    Posts
    3,864

    Cacti / SNMP question

    Among my plethora of projects I am working on, I am trying to get Cacti set up to graph all sorts of data for me from my servers. I can get it to graph the localhost data (processes, loads, users, etc) but I cannot get it to graph anything requiring SNMP, so I can't graph my network usage, or poll other server/hosts for their data.

    At the bottom of my cacti info page, I have this:
    Cacti Variables
    Operating System: unix
    PHP SNMP Support: no


    I am assuming that this has something to do with why it is not working. Now, I have the regular H-Sphere PHP compile on this server, do I need to recompile PHP to get this to work properly?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    79
    Yes, you need to recompile PHP using --with-snmp.

    ./configure --with-snmp

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    836
    No, you can also use net-snmp or ucd-snmp.

    do
    rpm -qa | grep snmp
    and see which you have, then under the config options make sure the correct one is selected. If you still have problems, try their forums for help.

    Also, check out using the cactid poller. It's still beta I believe, but we use it and it cut our polling time from over 15 minutes to seconds. It's a C implementation in replacement of the php poller.
    managedway
    WE BUILD CLOUDS

    Cloud Computing | Fiber Optic Internet | Colocation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,152
    rsanders:

    have you encountered any problems (bugs etc) with cactid?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    836
    have you encountered any problems (bugs etc) with cactid?
    Only in older versions. If you find a bug, post it in his forum.
    managedway
    WE BUILD CLOUDS

    Cloud Computing | Fiber Optic Internet | Colocation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Georgetown, Ontario
    Posts
    1,761

    Re: Cacti / SNMP question

    Originally posted by amish_geek
    Among my plethora of projects I am working on, I am trying to get Cacti set up to graph all sorts of data for me from my servers. I can get it to graph the localhost data (processes, loads, users, etc) but I cannot get it to graph anything requiring SNMP, so I can't graph my network usage, or poll other server/hosts for their data.

    At the bottom of my cacti info page, I have this:
    Cacti Variables
    Operating System: unix
    PHP SNMP Support: no


    I am assuming that this has something to do with why it is not working. Now, I have the regular H-Sphere PHP compile on this server, do I need to recompile PHP to get this to work properly?

    I'm having the exact same problem.

    rpm -qa | grep snmp shows the following:

    net-snmp-perl-5.0.9-2.90.1
    php-snmp-4.2.2-17.2
    net-snmp-5.0.9-2.90.1


    Any ideas?
    ии Repeat after me... ProSupport is the best... Prosupport is... ии
    ProSupport Host Support System - OUT NOW! Grab a copy yourself and see what the hype is about!
    VertiHost Inc. - We run a quality business. Do you?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    836
    You would be better served in their forums. I remember I had some problems, but they were all related to how I was seting up my hosts. Once I got it down, I havent looked back.
    managedway
    WE BUILD CLOUDS

    Cloud Computing | Fiber Optic Internet | Colocation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    79
    For what it's worth, I was unable to get SNMP working until I recompiled php with the --with-snmp switch option I mentioned above.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •