Newbie Questions

Hi,

I'm currently developing a website for a non-profit organization that expects to sell tickets to their fundraising events over the Internet. I've done lots of websites before, but unfortunately, I have no experience when it comes to e-commerce. I've googled and done some research and here are some questions I'd like to ask:

1) In which case would it be better to set up one's own credit processing and in which case would it be better to use a third-party merchant?

The next two questions refer to setting up one's own credit card processing.

2) From what I understand, to use SSL - the organization would need an Internet Merchant Account and an SSL Certificate. Is there anything different a non-profit organization has to do in this case?

3) Shopping cart software - this is only used when the processing is done on their own server, right? The shopping cart that comes with the host only works when installed in a top-level directory. Is there any way around that? The site is being hosted on a sub-domain that's quite separate from the main domain, so I'm just wondering if there are any software packages that don't have this restriction?

I don't know which route we'll be taking yet, but I'd like to get some basic information down first. If anyone has URLs to good tutorials on this stuff, that'd be appreciated as well!

Thanks in advance!

powweb is very good, they have 5 gig transfer a day and 1 gig of space all for 7.77 a month...if you go ahead with it tel them i refereed you..wink wink..it also come with oscommerce , with is awesome , it is very very powerful.,..but u gotta kno about php

As its a Charity why dont you approach a company and ask for dicounted processing in return for some advertising at the events you put on....

I will be checking out osCommerce. The site is run on PHP, so that should not be a problem. Thanks to 74s3 for the suggestion about approaching a company. I'll have to ask the main coordinator about that option as well.