Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    39

    Exclamation Connecting to Quickbooks with ASP?

    Is there anyway to connect to quickbooks database through a ASP connection string?? If not is there any semi easy to to transport certain information from access or sql server to quickbooks and vise versa? Thanks a ton!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    5,099
    if there is a ODBC driver registered for it in Windows, you can certainly do it. Check your ODBC drivers applet in the control panel.

    Depending on your version of Windows, it can be in different places. For Windows XP Professional, its Control Panel --> Administrative Tools --> Data Sources (ODBC)
    In order to understand recursion, one must first understand recursion.
    If you feel like it, you can read my blog
    Signal > Noise

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    39
    I don't believe any Windows Version has an ODBC driver for quickbooks? Do you know of any or does anyone know of any drivers that i might be able to download and use?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    i would *love* to access quickbooks data through odbc. if you figure it out, please share your experience. I'm sure a lot of people would use it

    only way that i know of is to export stuff from quickbooks to csv.

    in my experience quickboos is very closed system

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7
    Has anyone figured out an answer to this - it would be very helpful if it can be done.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Hi there,

    There is a commercial driver called QODBC. Site rules won't let me post the url yet buts its just .com

    There is a license to pay, but a trial version (read only and the bulk of the tables are blocked by the driver itself) is available.

    hope this helps

    GD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    89
    Do you have access to the hosting server to be able to install a driver?.

  8. #8
    Ok, not entirely sure what you mean (bit new to databases in general) so I'll explain what I did and hopefully this will answer the question.

    Quickbooks was installed on a local machine. It is not multiuser. The PC is networked, but for quickbooks acts as a standalone.
    I log on to the machine with FULL ADMIN rights.
    I just installed the EXE (which adds the drivers) then followed the PDF instructions.

    I think this is what your getting at. I pressume that in a multi user system you would need to install this on the clients, not the server.

    Good?

    GD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Port St Lucie, FL
    Posts
    117
    If you're trying to access a quickbooks database through that driver, I'd think you'd have to..

    1. Put Quickbooks with the data you need on the web server. Pretty sure this would restrict you to a Windows server.

    2. Install the driver and set up an ODBC setting to use it.

    3. Set up your ASP Script on that server to use the ODBC setting.

    4. Access the ASP Script on any machine that can see the web server.

    What's the licensing look like on that driver?
    Paul Embry
    Knight Software and Web Design
    [email protected]
    Quality PHP Web Programming for Reasonable Prices

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    39
    My original plan was to use The ODBC driver on a windows.server enviroment. Having a the "Server" computer which contained the data for quickbooks and allowed others to connect to quickbooks from other computers. Hence multi-user quickbooks edition. And then have the IIS on that server machine as well where i would just broadcast the website from there....

    Unforunately the drawback is, to do that i need to open some ports on the firewall for that machine, which means possibility of data hacks or other attacks....

    In theory the best way would be to run a qb server comp for the files then run another server comp for the IIS which i can DMZ on the router and do a ODBC link on a network link from the iis.server to the qb.server ...

    Anyways that was my idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •