newbie help - pages not updating

Hello all,

I'm a real newbie having just setup my first website hosted with ipowerweb. It is (and always will be) a work in progress and I am adding and updating pages everyday. This was going fine, I'd upload the modified page, refresh my browser and voila, new page would appear. Now, there's a problem, especially with index files. I modify and upload but cannot get the new file to load in my browser, it's always the old file - my husband has checked on his work pc and same deal

I have cleared all the temporary internet files from my pc and checked on pcs that haven't loaded these files before.

I have checked using WS_FTP that the modified file has indeed uploaded is the right one.

Apologies if this is the equivilent of checking if the machines plugged in when it won't work - but I'm at my wits end!

many thanks in advance for any advice.

Hold CTRL and press refresh.
    --

ooh you angel! Thank you

Now can you explain what that does and why this is a new problem to me?

Thanks

Are you using IE? If so go to the "Tools" menu, the "Internet Options", on the first tab there will be a "Settings" button. This will bring up a window with a list in, select the top option. Can't remember the wording exactly, but it implies that IE should check for the latest version of the page every time.

CTRL + F5 forces IE to look for the latest version and not just at your cache. You can get it to check for the latest version everytime by doing the above.

HTH.

F5 - the key which will cause IE to referesh. Just thought I'd say to clear any confusion as I realised I put F5 and not the refresh button!

Thanks Michellez

I had actually tried that and just tested it again and it doesn't work - only the ctrl refresh (or F5) does the trick. I'd really love to know why this is the case and why it has only just become a problem.