Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    50

    Exclamation HELP crazy load issues...

    15:36:58 up 1 day, 21:27, 1 user, load average: 23.25, 22.32, 20.76
    336 processes: 335 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 1.7% 0.0% 0.4% 0.2% 0.0% 97.3% 0.0%
    cpu00 1.7% 0.0% 0.3% 0.0% 0.1% 97.6% 0.0%
    cpu01 1.7% 0.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.0% 97.0% 0.0%


    what does it mean that everything is in "iowait".
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Vestal, NY
    Posts
    1,378
    More than likely, a cron job is running and is executing one of the following:

    1) updatedb (to update the database linux keeps of which files are stored on your disk and where they are)

    2) daily backup

    3) web stats

    All of the above will cause large increases in the amount of disk traffic. You can imagine your server's HD rattling and chugging away. This causes other processes to have a hard time communicating with the disk and therefore more and more processes build up and get in line. Next time the load goes up, try looking at the processlist to see what is happening.

    ps -Af | grep update
    ps -Af | grep stat
    ps -Af | grep webalizer
    ps -Af | grep backup

    will show you most of the common programs that would cause a high iowait on a typical webhosting box w/ cpanel or ensim for example. You will have to either grin and bear the high load or remove them from the cron if they don't serve a purpose.
    H4Y Technologies LLC Check out our new website!
    "Smarter, Cheaper, Faster" - SMB, Reseller, VDS, Dedicated, Colo hosting done right.

    ZERO PACKETLOSS, ZERO DOWNTIME Dedicated and Colo - USA: IA, CA, NC, OR, NV
    **http://h4y.us**
    Voice: (866)435-5642. *** Email: askus at host4yourself d0t com
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    bro what os is this? Appears you have the RHE iowait issue. Heres the fix:

    echo 30 > /proc/sys/vm/inactive_clean_percent
    echo 2 10 20 > /proc/sys/vm/pagecache

    give it about an hour to kick in should help loads. If it does add them to /etc/rc.local
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    50
    yes, I am running RHES3

    Thanks for the script...I just put them in, I'll let you know what I find!
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    50
    just wanted to let everyone know what the issue really was.

    Servermatrix misconfigured my server. I had 2Gb Ram, but they failed to update the BIOS setting that allowed the RAM. It was running on 256Mb!

    Once they fixed that, everything has been running smooth!
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    968
    Glad you got it all sorted out
    http://www.eBoundary.com - Let us help you expand your eBoundaries!
    Fast, Secure and reliable FreeBSD shared, reseller and dedicated hosting.
    FREE Peace of mind with every account!
      0 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •