Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Setting up webserver at home

    Hello


    Im trying to setup a webserver at home.
    I have read an online tutorial.
    Its good for newbies such as myself, but does not cover everything.

    My problem is that I cant get it to work.
    What have I done so far?


    My ISP uses static IP, therefore I use Zoneedit.com.
    They gave me two nameservers which I should
    login and enter at for example goddaddy.com (or whereever the domain namne was bought)
    I have done that more than 72 hours ago.

    Then, still at zoneedit.com, I set my IP for that domain.
    That will be the IP to my server PC, right?

    The thing is, that im using a D-link DI-604 to share the ADSL connection with
    altogheter three computers. (One webserver)
    When I view the settings for my router I can see that all three connected PCs
    have their own IP number. Do they (IP) only exist in my "network"?

    If they do, have I set the right IP at zoneedit?

    My server computer is running winXP and as webserver I use Apache.
    In Apache I have set port 80 (default).
    When I try localhost in the browser I get my test page working
    (Classic "Hello world"). So, I guess the server is running!

    In the router setting I have opened port 80 for incoming traffic.

    I know that there is a lot of steps involved here, but any tip
    is welcome.
    I suspect that the IP I have entered is wrong.
    But, which IP should I enter?


    By the way, I have searched for some tutorial which covers this. (without success)
    Do you know any good tutorial which covers this at a newbie level, please post a link.


    Im sorry for the low level question, but the only way to learn is to
    deal with it, right???

    Thanks / Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    338
    First step. Call your ISP and see if they allow web servers on their service. Most of the time, port 80 is not an open port. Might verify that before waisting your time getting everything setup. Although, its always nice to have a server at home to test things

  3. #3
    Well. I've a question for you. Why you want a local server? Is it only to build your site and you plan to pay to host it later or you want to host it yourself. I'm a newb myself but i wanted a server to build my site only, not host it. Also what kind of site is it? What tool do you use to build it and have you started it yet?

  4. #4
    if your on the computer that is running apache, go to whatismyip.com and just enter that ip into your browser window, you may have to guide it to the html file your looking for like:

    yourip/index.html

    etc.

  5. #5
    Originally posted by ChokEy
    if your on the computer that is running apache, go to whatismyip.com and just enter that ip into your browser window, you may have to guide it to the html file your looking for like:

    yourip/index.html

    etc.

    OK, but why does ipconfig and whatismyip.com present different IPs?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    598
    Because you are behind a router. IP Config should show something like 192.168.1.100, where whatismyip.com will show your actual ip.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    43
    Originally posted by martinsmith
    OK, but why does ipconfig and whatismyip.com present different IPs?
    Internal and external, external is the one you need (whatismyip.com).

  8. #8
    Thanks for replying.....

    Ok, I understand.

    I have entered the correct IP, but it still doesnt work.

    You know any good tutors about this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    338
    Originally posted by Cope
    First step. Call your ISP and see if they allow web servers on their service. Most of the time, port 80 is not an open port. Might verify that before wasting your time getting everything setup.

  10. #10
    Originally posted by Cope

    Ok, I have now called my ISP and I now know that port 80 is open.

    I have entered a new IP as shown by whatsmyip.com, and im not sure what next step will be.

    From here I must somehow get to my server which obviously has an internal IP given by the router.
    How do I do this?

    Thanks/

  11. #11
    Originally posted by martinsmith
    Ok, I have now called my ISP and I now know that port 80 is open.

    I have entered a new IP as shown by whatsmyip.com, and im not sure what next step will be.

    From here I must somehow get to my server which obviously has an internal IP given by the router.
    How do I do this?

    Thanks/

    At the D-link settings I can click "Advanced" and then "Routing".
    It says:
    "Routing table. Use the routing table for routing purposes within your local network"

    There I can fill in :

    Destination
    Subnet mask
    Gateway
    Hop
    Enable (probably just check the box)

    If this is what I need, im not sure what to fill in.

    Thanks/ Martin

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    819

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    288
    When I ran a local web server I had problems with my firewall blocking it from the outside. I literally had to turn it off.
    9/11 Memorial, do you have a story to tell?
    United Web Site Award Givers, do you believe your site is worthy of an award?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •