Thumbs down Active Web Hosting headache

I'm having a problem with AWH (as most people do after a while with them...). They were my first host, and I was stupid enough to also register my domain through them. I quickly learned that their hosting was no good so I switched to another company, but now my domain name is expired and I need to renew. So I emailed AWH asking them how I'd go about renewing (I'm still very new to these things), and I got a reply saying to use the account management system on their site. I replied asking if I'd still use that even though I don't have hosting service through AWH anymore, and...no reply. Considering that was around 11:30 this morning and it's now 9:30 at night, I'm pretty sure that if I were going to receive a reply, I would have by now. I hope I'm jumping the gun, but I know how shady this company is now. I guess what I'm wondering is if I really have anything to worry about? Can they just keep my domain and not ever reply to me, and I'll have to just accept it? I have a lot of people who rely on my site and I really need to renew that domain asap. Is there anything I can do?

If a WHOIS does not show you as the Registrant, then the Domain name is not yours -- it belongs to whomever the Registrant is. As you are no longer a Client of AWH, whether they respond to you or not is strictly up to them.

If you really want the Domain name, you may have to fight and/or pay for it. Might be better, less stressful, to simply get another Domain name and move on. You can always wait for the current Domain name to once again become available to the public and register it in your name at that time.
    PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
    Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
    ServerAdmin Services also available

who is AWH ?
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
    Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar