Question When it comes to a host, does location play a role?

Hi peoples, I'm really new to this whole hosting thing. I've been looking for a while (few weeks) and I've been looking for a host that is geographically close to me. Seeing what little is around I'm pretty much forced to open my search to a greater area.

Does location really matter as far as a host? I mean I guess if I consider what backbones/connections to the net the host has that should be pretty much it right?

Thanks for your time.

d3.

Well, to an extent it does matter yes, but for the most part it doesn't if that makes sense. Obviously, someone on the other side of the world may be a bit slower than someone just a little bit away. However, in this day and age in most cases (provided the company has the technology) you shouldn't notice too much of a difference really.

So in the end, it doesn't really matter.

I feel the same way. A difference exists, but it is minimal in most cases, meaning it's usually not worth the trouble to look only for hosts in a very restricted area.

Try http://findmyhosting.com/AdvancedHosting.asp to look for hosts in a specific area, but as I said, the importance of location is minimal.

Re: When it comes to a host, does location play a role?

Originally posted by deethree
    Does location really matter as far as a host? I mean I guess if I consider what backbones/connections to the net the host has that should be pretty much it right?

Thanks for your time.

d3.
    Only 2 considerations... Your "backbone/connection" concern is valid. A datacenter in Zimbabwe will likely not have the best network, especially during some tribal uprising or coup attempt. The other consideration is support. If your host provides support during "normal" business hours, but in a far-away time zone, that might pose a problem (or not, depending upon your needs).