Dedicated Game Servers

Hello,
    I'm planning to setup a game server for one of the game im playing. But i've never setup one before and have absolutely no idea how.

Can anyone tell me the basic thing you need to do when setting up a server? Like what software, os, panel etc you need. And what server specs are recommanded.

Thanks

Where do you plan on purchasing the server? What game are you talking about it? Or you going to get your own dedicated server to do this? You need to know how to remotely control a Linux or Windows server.

The best thing is to go to the site of whatever game you are going to be playing and look around for a setup guide. Most of the popular gaming sites have this.

For Half-Life Dedicated Server, I'm an operator in #hlds on GameSurge IRC and I've written a setup guide because we answer so many of the same questions day after day

Anyways, here's a link to setting up a Steam HLDS server: http://hlds.murrysvillelan.org

Hope that helps and good luck!

im planning on making a server for the game a-tractor if you guys ever heard of that

I don't know where im gonna buy my server yet..

And no I don't really know how to remotely control a linux/window server

No, I have never heard of this game now that I'm curious I'll be checking it out. Probably be cheaper to just rent one from a reputable company unless you need multiple servers.
    Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
    Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
    Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
    Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?

Originally posted by ZeConan
    im planning on making a server for the game a-tractor if you guys ever heard of that

I don't know where im gonna buy my server yet..

And no I don't really know how to remotely control a linux/window server
    Does this game come with a dedicated server install?