Thread: First for me

First for me

Just posting a thought and a bit of venting for me...
    A couple of years ago I offered to host and author a complete new site for a student nursing org. Since I was a nursing student and had a small business of hosting I figured doing them a favor. They explained to me that they would really appreciate it and offered 20 per month. I was not looking to make a profit so I did rewrite the site and hosted it. The old site was a simple one with lots of bad colors, tons of animated gifs, etc. I gave it a nice new clean look with clean graphics, database backend for content, etc. A new election year came and the newly elected 'webmaster' said he would take over. I gave him the information and was told by the board he would handle it. Well he did nothing and it ended up appearing as if I was producing all of the stale content. Just a bit ago I was informed that the domain was being moved to a new account with Dotster. I checked with Dotster to be sure as I was concerned about the domain being hijacked. All was okay, then a week or so ago I was forward an email by accident that gave set up instructions for the new account with Verio. So I wrote the board with questions and received no answers. I figured they just decided that I was not working out and moved on. Well they are paid up until July 1, 2004. I figured to be sure the best way is to maintain their site on my servers until 1 July and then delete the account.
    Okay.. long winded yes... but I guess I just felt it was poor business not to be up front and say 'hey, we want to move."
    Thanks for listening!

Vancouver Island, BC
    It's too bad they won't respond with a reason, I've had similar situations in the past only a couple of times but it can be fustrating. If you still know someone within the org it may be a window to at least get the reason for the move.