hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : 512K or 256K ?
Reply

Forum Jump

512K or 256K ?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2000, 08:16 AM
CRego3D CRego3D is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,619
Hi everybody

I'm building a machine right now to server as a host for my webhosting business, I've decided in every single aspect of it except one ..

Should I go with:

Dual PIII 700 Mhz 256K cache or
Dual PIII 600 Mhz 512K cache ?

would it be wiser to have a little less speed but more chache ? since this is a host machine ...

Any suggestions would be appreciated

__________________
Carlos Rego
OnApp CVO

The Cloud Engine

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-2000, 09:12 AM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
Cool

Well the 256k cache will be running at 700mhz as opposed to the 512k cache running at 300mhz.

As far as performance the 700s would be faster, but not by very much.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2000, 10:34 AM
MattF MattF is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,268
I'm taking a wild guess but I'd say more cache is better, Why is Xeon range so expensive compare to standard PIII? Why are they the preference for servers? Why do they have large caches? Why was the Pentium Pro 200 so expensive? Heck it's still expensive and available (not new) in the UK?

Anyone shine some proper info on this. I too would like to know about cache benefits and their relatively against mhz.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-17-2000, 11:09 AM
CRego3D CRego3D is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,619
I agree ..

I was allways under the impression that for servers the more cache the merrier ... maybe someone else could enlighten us ;-)

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2000, 06:39 PM
Chicken Chicken is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12,121
cache = one of the last thing s I don't fully understand about computers. If some one can explain the benefits/function or whatever you want to call it, I'd appreciate it as well.

__________________
HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

Chicken

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2000, 08:12 PM
Travis Travis is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 337
Cache holds a subset of the code/data the CPU is currently working on. (Or, in ideal cases, the entire set.) Typical cache, at 300-700MHz, is a helluva lot faster than your 100 or 133MHz RAM. The more cache you have, the less often the CPU has to go out to slower system RAM to get the code or data it needs, and the faster things proceed.

Newer PIIIs only have 256K cache, versus the 512K of older chips. BUT, it runs at processor core speed rather than half of that, and it's also on a 256 bit bus rather than 64. So overall, even with less of it, you'll probably see performance improvements.

I have some 2MB cache Xeon 450's on the way. I'm curious to see how they perform - they ought to be great in a database server.

In regard to the server choices that started this thread - I'd go with the 700s.


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2000, 08:24 PM
CRego3D CRego3D is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,619
Thank you Travis ... err .. too bad I just bought the 600's 5 minutes ago .. how well, a Dual 600Mhz with 512MB should hold 300 customers (don't intend to put more than that on it)

__________________
Carlos Rego
OnApp CVO

The Cloud Engine

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2000, 08:38 PM
Travis Travis is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 337
Carlos,

Don't worry about the 600's - they'll do fine.

It's always hard to answer the "how many customers can I put on this machine?" questions. But as a point of reference, I currently have a machine with a single PII 350 serving about 260 domains. It runs a load average of .3-.4, so it's not exactly overloaded.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2000, 09:24 PM
Chicken Chicken is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12,121
Ok, next question: How do you determine a computer's cache?

__________________
HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

Chicken

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2000, 09:34 PM
Travis Travis is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 337
In Linux, cat /proc/cpuinfo

Some systems will show it to you in the BIOS boot process.


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-17-2000, 09:39 PM
CRego3D CRego3D is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,619
the best way is to look at the CPU itself, look at the top of the CPU and you will see something like 450/100/512 (that's a xeon 450 .. 100mhz FSB and 512K cache .) great pic Here: http://abacus.sj.ipixmedia.com/abc/M...933a8d/i-2.JPG


__________________
Carlos Rego
OnApp CVO

The Cloud Engine

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2000, 11:18 PM
Chicken Chicken is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 12,121
I'll see if I can catch it in the bios, or at startup, since this is a server, but I happen to have it mounted under my desk (gotta love 1U servers) and am running win98 on it. (Just until I need it for something else)

__________________
HostHideout.com - Where professionals discuss web hosting.

Chicken

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-18-2000, 10:14 AM
guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
when deciding whether to go for more cache or more bandwidth, it is important to consider the uses of the server

a database server needs more cache whereas a web server would benefit more from the speed.
I confirmed this with benchmarks : )

for all you people building web servers, I would seriously consider the athlon and thunderbird as a solution. They will work just as well and cost less : )


Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?