Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: using all RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,226

    using all RAM

    Hello

    When I had a Celeron 1.3 GHz with 512 MBs RAM on ev1, it used around 500 MBs RAM and on peaks it needed around 200 MBs from swap

    Now I'm on a p4 2.8 GHz with 1024 MBs RAM and it's almost always using 900~1000 MBs RAM

    I'm running exactly the same sites (moved them) and I have this config on httpd.conf (the same too):

    Timeout 20
    KeepAlive On
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
    KeepAliveTimeout 10
    MinSpareServers 5
    MaxSpareServers 10
    StartServers 5
    MaxClients 250

    when I got this server, I setted:
    MinSpareServers 8
    MaxSpareServers 16
    StartServers 8

    (I really think that's a better config for p4 2.8 GHz with 1024 MBs RAM)

    Then when I saw the memory usage, I reduced it to the values showed above and still the same thing.

    [email protected] [/]# free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1027996 1004044 23952 0 352276 385816
    -/+ buffers/cache: 265952 762044
    Swap: 2040212 189680 1850532
    thanks

  2. #2
    i doubt some few extra apache processes will have that much impact on your RAM; most probably it adds 20-30 extra MBs. the real reason your memory shows as all used are the OS caches and buffers (300+Mb), which reduce disk accesses and such. Your OS will automatically reduce buffer sizes when your server will need more memory, nothing to worry about.

    Also, most of the other memory is probably used by mySQL, not Apache.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    1,349
    Your settings are good, but I don't see your MaxRequestsPerChild value.

    Set them to 50 and your RAM will never go over 30%

    also Timeout 20 > 5

    This is what solved all my Celeron 2.4 overload and overuse issues.
    Not sure what will happen on your 2.8 GHz
    :: :: :: :: :: ::
    :: VDSP.Net :: Directory of virtual and dedi serv providers by location and price

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,226
    Originally posted by piramida
    i doubt some few extra apache processes will have that much impact on your RAM; most probably it adds 20-30 extra MBs. the real reason your memory shows as all used are the OS caches and buffers (300+Mb), which reduce disk accesses and such. Your OS will automatically reduce buffer sizes when your server will need more memory, nothing to worry about.

    Also, most of the other memory is probably used by mySQL, not Apache.
    but if it's to reduce disk access, it's shouldn't get so big in order to use swap... or am I missing something?

  5. #5
    no, it should not be using swap, correct. *some* swap may be used to unload stuff that's sitting in memory but is never really being used. that's my guess - you should check if you have such things. is server swapping? what's your usual load figures?

  6. #6
    Originally posted by Imago
    Your settings are good, but I don't see your MaxRequestsPerChild value.

    Set them to 50 and your RAM will never go over 30%

    also Timeout 20 > 5

    This is what solved all my Celeron 2.4 overload and overuse issues.
    Not sure what will happen on your 2.8 GHz

    Hey thanks for that, that solved most if not all our apache woes in the last week or so
    http://www.baddabinghosting.com
    [email protected]
    MSN - [email protected]
    AIM - Badda Bing 0003

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    1,349
    You are welcome! :-)))
    It was really big pain in the arsch
    Last edited by Imago; 04-05-2004 at 06:02 AM.
    :: :: :: :: :: ::
    :: VDSP.Net :: Directory of virtual and dedi serv providers by location and price

  8. #8
    what OS? if linux which one and what kernel?
    is it on HT enable or not?
    http://boostdomain.com
    Affordable unlimited domain reseller plans
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,974
    Turn keepalive off.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    1,349
    Originally posted by Boost
    what OS? if linux which one and what kernel?
    RHE 2.4.21-9.0.1.EL
    :: :: :: :: :: ::
    :: VDSP.Net :: Directory of virtual and dedi serv providers by location and price

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •