Thread: Host's hosts?

Host's hosts?

As a rank newbie, I obviously don't understand this business.

Most of the posts I read about people's hosts, have signatures indicating that they are themselves hosts. I can't really understand why an educated user would choose to purchase a resold host when they can just as easily sign up with the host hosting the host.

Obviously many of you are sucessful at this, what am I missing?

Resellers generally are able to receive bulk discounts from their host, and can then offer cheaper prices.

Also, some resellers provide better support than their host.
    DreamHost Web Hosting
    Shared and VPS hosting + dedicated servers and colocation.
    ... and we're green, too!
    Hosting your dreams since 1997.

There are a gazillion hosts. But how many real data centers are there. I seem to see the same pix of the same room with what look like the same rows of racks with thousands of servers at many different hosting serviced website

Are there a few gigantic heavy hitters like Earthlink from whom a majority of hosts actually contract hardware resources? Are any smaller hosts folks with a half dozen servers running in their spare bedroom?

There are tons of datacenters, and many different hosts have servers in the same datacenter.

Also, racks generally look pretty much the same, and the possibility that people are putting up clip art, or pictures found through Google images is a big one.

The reason that certain datacenters are very popular is usually due to their proven performance. On the other hand, they may just be really inexpensive, which brings quite a bit of people in.

Think about this: Two hosts in the same datacenter may run their business in different ways. Some may oversell their disk space and bandwidth, possibly overloading their servers, while the other may not, and provide a much more reliable and fast service.