Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    324

    Why would a ftp connection time out while uploading?

    Server Specs: RHE+Cpanel w/ Pureftp

    - Some of my users get disconnected while uploading to their websites via ftp, or even dreamweaver. This doesn't happen alot, but i'm curious what would make it happen, and how can i prevent it.

    Thank you in advance for your replies.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    324
    anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,030
    Depending on the user's connection, maybe they're uploading too slow.

    This is common on dialup. What are the file sizes like?
    CybexHost.com - Shared and Reseller Hosting Solutions on cPanel/WHM Linux Servers
    ModernTweak.com - Discount ModernBill Licenses, Hosted Installations, and Professional Services
    :: Pay for your discount ModernBill license with PayPal
    :: admin[at]cybexhost.com :: AIM: CybexH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    222
    It can be a problem is you are using a firewall. Try enabling 'passive mode' if it is not already enabled on your FTP client.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    324
    Well it times out when your uploading mass files, for example if i select all my files and upload them at once, then during the upload the ftp disconnects.

    If i upload one file at a time though, i don't receive the same problem.

    I'm going to see how my friends have been uploading, whether its passive or not.

    - Also all uploads so far have been made on DSL, and Cable connections. None from dial-up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    222
    There may be a hard server limit on the length of time you can keep an FTP session open. Try timing it to see if it is happening after a set amount of time. Again though, try to make sure you are uploading with passive mode enabled.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    I had the same problem and was caused by firewall and passiveftp ports needed to be opened.
    Passive FTP
    49151
    49152
    49153
    49154
    49155
    49156
    49157
    49158
    49159
    49160
    49161

    And here's the code you need to put into /etc/proftpd.conf to tell proftpd to use these open ports (I put it right after the Port line):

    code:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ##### added to make passive transfer work
    # use part of the IANA registered ephemeral port range
    PassivePorts 49152 49161
    ####
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Once opened these errors went away with ws_ftp

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    324
    I use pureftp though, not proftp ... would it still work?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Not sure as I only had proftp on my server. This worked great for proftp though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •