Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Any one who can help with DOS question?

    I need to copy a large number of files to floppy disk using DOS due to the computer taking a dump on me. Is there a command that allows the copying of files to multiple floppy disks?
    Any help is appreciated.
    Matt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    I've never seen a command that will do what you are trying to do.

    You don't have a CD burner?

  3. #3
    I do, downstairs on my brand new dell. I am hooked up by wireless, but windows will not load, explorer.exe can not be found, windows must be reloaded.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    433
    I don't have experience with wireless, but can the device send data from a DOS command?

    Try looking for a tool that will allow you to send data from a DOS prompt on google.

    You could try this program

    http://www.pcworlddownload.com/syste...isk-backup.htm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Eaglehawk, Victoria,Australia
    Posts
    5,023

    Re: Any one who can help with DOS question?

    Originally posted by tamarackcj
    I need to copy a large number of files to floppy disk using DOS due to the computer taking a dump on me. Is there a command that allows the copying of files to multiple floppy disks?
    Any help is appreciated.
    Matt
    A dos version of arj which you can rum from a floppy disk will allow you to save to multiply disks. It will also compress them as well. You can simply do the whole drive or selected folders.

    However the simplest would be to remove the harddisk and take it to another computer and tempararily install it as a second hard disks and then burn them to cd.

    Doc
    www.doctorhill.com.au
    Need help? just ask The Doctor
    House calls a specialty
    If ignorance is bliss, why aren't more people happy ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,845
    Originally posted by tamarackcj
    I do, downstairs on my brand new dell. I am hooked up by wireless, but windows will not load, explorer.exe can not be found, windows must be reloaded.
    Yank the drive outta that comp, plug it into the other comp & rip the files off

    Why make things difficult with DOS?

    ~Francisco
    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
    - All popular VPN methods supported
    - Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
    - 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony

  7. #7
    Take the hard drive out make it a slave. Put it into the computer downstairs and copy the files over or burn em to cd.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    6,627
    The DOS xcopy command will span over multiple disks. Just type

    xcopy /?

    in the DOS window to get the syntax... you probably want something like this:

    xcopy c:\folder1\*.* a:

    There are various switches to control whether you copy subdirectories, how to handle the archive attribute, etc., but that's the basic command to copy from, for example, a directory called folder1 to drive a:
    Specializing in SEO and PPC management.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    645
    Buy a portable hard drive case, firewire or USB.
    Remove hard drive from old computer, put in case.
    Attach to new computer and get what you need.
    Compgeeks.com usually has cases for $50 or so. You can also get them from CompUSA or BestBuy.
    If they only have them with hard drives installed, it's easy to take the drive out and slip in another one.
    Laura K.
    http://www.madmousergraphics.com
    graphic design for grownups

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •