Thread: Refund Policy

Question Refund Policy

i am new to the hosting business, i will be selling annual subscriptions only and was wondering if someone could kindly explain what the legal implications for refund is. As far as I am aware, a service is consumed upon order so it is legally non-refundable, and as i am aware webhosting is actually a service.

i've seen alot of web hosting sites that say they dont give no money back gurantee but mention something about a pro-rata refund etc.

Also, i would like to write up an effective refund policy, is there anywhere i can look for it?

Re: Refund Policy

Originally posted by kellyboyce

As far as I am aware, a service is consumed upon order so it is legally non-refundable, and as i am aware webhosting is actually a service.
    That is a very broad statement. Not sure how you figure that.

In the case of web hosting the service is 'consumed' over the life of the hosting term.

You just need to decide on your refund policy and then set it out clearly where users who sign up can see it.

e.g. "Refunds will not be given." Or "Cancellations within the first 30 days will be refunded in full. Cancellations after that period will be refunded at the rate of $xxx/month".

Or something like that. IANAL, etc, etc. - VPS Hosting and Dedicated Server Hosting since 2003 - Peace of Mind Web Site Monitoring

So hosting is consumed over the term paid for. So, basically if they paid for 1 year and then 2months later wanted a refund, i am legally required to refund the remaining 10 months, is that correct? i see alot of hosts also adding some administration fees to it aswell. So if i add a $15 administration fee, it would be as follows: 12months minus 2months consumed and then minus $15 from the pro-rata refundable amount. is that correct?