bandwidth question

Hello

I'm going to be putting up my own web site soon. I'm narrowing down the companies to host my site, but I'm new to this and I don't really know what to look for. How much bandwidth would I require for a music site with downloadable mp3s and a small message board? Anyone who has put their tracks up for download, do you ever run out at the end of the month?
    Is 35gb a month enough?

I'm currently looking at hasweb.com and hostmatrix.com

thank you

(I apologize if this is a double post, but I sent this a few minutes ago and it never showed up on the board, so I'm posting it again.)

It really depends on the popularity of the site. We host some production studio sites and typically they transfer less than 2GB/month and they do have serveral MP3s on their site.

It would probably be best to start with around 10GB of bandwidth and upgrade as the need comes along, that way you dont pay for what you dont use.

zxcv,

make sure you have proper licensing for those music mp3s or else you will have difficulty finding a host.

As for bandwidth requirement, you will need to have at least two variables to have a rough idea of traffic.

So for example if the average download for a visitor is 1 MB to your site than your bandwidth requirement will be roughly 1 MB x No of expected visitors.

With these two variables you would just be speculating.

Regards,
    Mediopia Technologies, Inc - Call Toll Free (24 x 7): 1-877-807-HOST
    Windows and Linux Reseller and Shared Web Hosting Plans
    SiteStudio, ASP, ASP.net, PHP, CGI, Coldfusion MX 6.1, Frontpage, MS SQL Server, MySQL, PgSQL ...
    http://www.mediopia.biz/

I've been hosting my own music production for about a year now. I found it useful to host the MP3s on a separate server to the rest of my site.

My main site had some very small preview samples, a small forum and some tutorials - I was fine with 5GB a month.