Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    20

    Poll Master HELP TRYING TO LINK POLL TO EXISTING WEB PAGE!??

    Hi, I'm trying to make my Web poll software (Poll Master v1.0 beta 1.2) work on my existing Web page.

    I set up Poll Master flawlessly and everything works so all I need to do is configure it correctly.

    My web site is www.monstrosityrecords.com and I would like for the poll to be on my www.monstrosityrecords.com/music.html page. As of now, the poll is just on a blank white page.

    Here is the poll:
    http://jpamaro.com/scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=1

    But apparently Poll master claims I can put this poll one my own Web pages. Here is all the directions they give me! They are very fague, I don't know what to put for either variables!

    LINK TO POLL CGI:

    http://jpamaro.com/scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=1


    SSI CODE:
    (replace highlighted VARIABLES with corresponding values)

    <!--#include virtual="VIRTUAL-PATH-TO/poll.cgi?poll_id=1&return_url=URL-WITH-SSI-CALL"-->

    PLEASE HELP!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,598
    Basically, here's what you need to do:

    - Ensure that SSI (Server Side Includes) is enabled on your server. Some hosts require that you rename the page file to .shtml in order for everything to work).

    - Insert the code <!--#include virtual="scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=1"--> into the area of the page where you want the poll to be displayed.

    And that should be it... if it doesn't work then all you need to do is put in a different path to the script if the one I provided is wrong.

    Go through some of these sites for additional reference: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&i...+side+includes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    20
    HELP! I think I messed something up! My polls don't even work anymore! All I really did was change my music.html to music.shtml and not when I go my poll link I don't see any buttons anymore.

    http://jpamaro.com/scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=1


    What did I do wrong? I even tried to make a new poll! I was trying to paste the code above when this happened..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    20
    Ok I got the poll to work again, but I'm still having the same problem trying to paste it to my Web page! Everytime I paste that line of code:
    <!--#include virtual="scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=4"-->

    Not only does pasting that in my Web pages mess up the NEW poll I make everytime but I get an error on the page

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    What's going on?

    But if I paste this link:

    http://jpamaro.com/scgi-bin/poll/poll.cgi?poll_id=4

    I can still access the poll on a seperate plain white page.
    The same problem I originally had!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    20
    Latest update! I got it working now! I only have one problem with this program. Everytime I make a change to one of my current polls the buttons stop showing up on me and I have to create a new poll all over it! What a burden!
    Anyhow, I'm using Poll Master, maybe they'll come out with a better version soon.

    Hey thanks your help!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    20
    Alright now this is really getting to be a nuisance, I think it's the program that just sucks! Can somebody recommend another program I can use! Because this one keeps taking the buttons away!

    I'm using Poll Master, what's another one. Doesn't matter if it's freeware or not. Thanks..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •