Results 1 to 39 of 39
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489

    Gnax network outage

    There are some problems accessing the network at the moment. Looks to be the abovenet link that is the problem.

    From the UK, times out here:

    4 40 ms 29 ms 25 ms 251.ge6-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.78.85]

    5 23 ms 23 ms 25 ms so-4-1-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [208.184.231.174]

    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * * Request timed out.

    --

    Earlier before it went down totally, the result was:

    4 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms 251.ge6-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.78.85]

    5 23 ms 25 ms 29 ms so-4-1-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [208.184.231.174]

    6 94 ms 100 ms 98 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.

    --

    Looks like an abovenet network issue.

  2. #2

    Unhappy Gnax Site is down?

    Hi,

    Maybe is just me but my Server and the Gnax Site are down for me

    The strangest thing is that I have tree servers there and the only one who is not working is my main one, and I can't log into the Support or APC Remote Reboot. Anyone has this problem?

    Mod, please move it for me if they're down

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    174
    Down for me also.. I've tried traces from theplanet, nac etc. and they all die.

  4. #4
    Originally posted by ViAdcK
    Down for me also.. I've tried traces from theplanet, nac etc. and they all die.
    Damm, Now I lost my 100% Uptime

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    n-Dimension
    Posts
    144
    Yes - It's down

  6. #6
    Anyone else is down with the Gnax Site?

    This server is up:
    209.51.155.234

    These Servers are down:
    65.254.44.138
    www.Mtxis.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central California, USA
    Posts
    197
    confirmed from Central CA.

    Gnax is down.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Matthew,

    They announced on their forum that there would be some core router replacement, however they also told me that this wouldn't cause any outages.

    I'm from the netherlands and I have the same problem. The network seems to be unreachable from Europe. Also from the US it appears to be down, I can't ping the network from any other box in the US.

    I also wonder what's going on, I hope Jeff can respond. I'm also having some issues when trying to call them, I can't seem to get though. The number I'm trying is 404.230.9150 (that's +1.404.230.9150 from Europe). It's odd, I hear someone talking to me but they can't seem to hear me..

  9. #9


    now this is a real joke, what is going on all around we fix one place we get the other.

    down here too

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    If anyone can get through please let me know if they have any news.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489
    I've been speaking on the phone numerous times this morning, no problems at all.

    Hoping they can either have abovenet fix the issue, or re-route traffic shortly.

  12. #12

  13. #13
    they are working on it.

  14. #14
    My server is down too ...
    Please any body can call them
    Regards

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Getting routing from the UK here via telia -> national.net

    Rus

  16. #16
    Tranxactglobal.com is down too the datacenter is DOWN!!!!
    Regards

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Last time I asked them to re-route something they were taking care of it rightaway, currently I just can't contact them though.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489
    One of our traces earlier this morning:

    4 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms 251.ge6-0.mpr1.lhr1.uk.above.net [213.161.78.85]

    5 23 ms 25 ms 29 ms so-4-1-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [208.184.231.174]

    6 94 ms 100 ms 98 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * 127 ms 123 ms pos11-1.atl-e00.wvfiber.net [63.223.2.250]
    11 155 ms 106 ms 106 ms 64.154.39.54
    12 108 ms 109 ms 105 ms or1.atl1-s0.national-net.com [66.115.128.65]
    13 129 ms 133 ms 135 ms gige.globalxng-telia-aleron-ibis7.gnax.net [209.
    51.130.33]
    14 150 ms 125 ms 127 ms l3-atl-3.gnax.net [209.51.131.78]

  19. #19
    Originally posted by freakysid
    There is a forum for this:

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/forumd...php?forumid=59
    I just though it was only me

    BTW; I asked to be moved if it's down for everyone, I'm not that stupid

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Originally posted by inteltechs
    they are working on it.
    On what?

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489
    Originally posted by Apoc
    On what?
    the problem?

  22. #22
    Originally posted by Apoc
    On what?

    I just called them, one of the tech said that they noticed the problem and working on it.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Originally posted by BurtonHost
    the problem?
    No kidding sherlock. I mean, if they are working on it, they have to know what the problem is. So what is the problem?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489
    Originally posted by Apoc
    No kidding sherlock. I mean, if they are working on it, they have to know what the problem is. So what is the problem?
    A network problem? Rus has confirmed he can get through on a different route (via telia / n-net) and so far traces we have done suggest it is the abovenet link that has the problem.. timing out before it even reaches the network.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Amsterdam/Rotterdam, NL
    Posts
    2,085
    Hehe yeah yeah I understand that, but I meant more like, what's going on with Abovenet then (asin, what did the datacenter say exactly)? There would be a router replacement (according to GNAX) this night, did anything go wrong there?

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    219
    It's back up.

  27. #27
    it's back online again

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    International
    Posts
    489
    Not sure.. but our access has just been restored.


    5 23 ms 21 ms 21 ms so-4-1-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [208.184.231.174]

    6 94 ms 96 ms 94 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
    7 110 ms 107 ms 113 ms pos0-0.pr1.atl4.us.above.net [64.125.28.230]
    8 125 ms 121 ms 123 ms g102-abovenet-atl.bb.ibis7.net [209.249.11.102]

    9 127 ms 133 ms 127 ms ge1-25-6.atl-c00.wvfiber.net [63.223.0.161]
    10 159 ms 121 ms 121 ms pos11-1.atl-e00.wvfiber.net [63.223.2.250]
    11 105 ms 109 ms 106 ms 64.154.39.54
    12 107 ms 113 ms 106 ms or1.atl1-s0.national-net.com [66.115.128.65]
    13 125 ms 127 ms 131 ms gige.globalxng-telia-aleron-ibis7.gnax.net [209.
    51.130.33]
    14 138 ms 127 ms 129 ms l3-atl-3.gnax.net [209.51.131.78]

  29. #29
    It's backup ....
    Happy All

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,750
    Think it was a world routing issue

  31. #31
    from the netherlands:
    3 ge4-2.mpr2.ams1.nl.above.net (195.69.144.122) [AS 1200] 4 msec 0 msec 4 msec
    4 pos2-0.cr2.ams2.nl.above.net (208.184.231.254) [AS 6461] 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
    5 so-4-0-0.cr2.lhr3.uk.above.net (64.125.31.157) [AS 6461] 8 msec 8 msec 12 msec
    6 so-0-0-0.cr1.lhr3.uk.above.net (208.184.231.145) [AS 6461] 8 msec 8 msec 8 msec
    7 so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net (64.125.31.186) [AS 6461] 84 msec 80 msec 84 msec
    8 pos11-0.pr1.atl4.us.above.net (64.125.29.37) [AS 6461] 92 msec 92 msec 96 msec
    9 64.124.17.5.gnax.net (64.124.17.5) [AS 6461] 92 msec 108 msec *
    10 L3-ATL-3.gnax.net (209.51.131.78) [AS 16626] 92 msec 92 msec 92 msec

  32. #32
    Thank God!

    Anyone knows what happened ?

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419

    outage

    as we announced on our forum - abovenet announced to us that they were going to be replacing their core router and it would involve a 30 minute outage. this shuold be no big deal - other than some customers would be affected duing this time as the global route registrys update since it can take 30 minutes to get route updates to your provider - so even though it appears we are down - we are not - your provider just has not gotten route updates yet that the path is no longer accessible inbound. This was the majority of the issue for you guys. then the abovenet router came back - and one of the hsrp peers on their side only gave us parital tables - so this corrupted the session. I cleared it and brought the session down and back up again. then we got full routes from them finally.

    sorry if anyone was affected - we did however give everyone plenty of announcement on the maintenace this time from our upstream this time as you all have requested.

    the main issue is that a lot of people come in on abovnet since they have strong peers. I am adding 3 more gig interfaces that we have just completed contracts on that should heavily bolster our inbound routes and cut these issues down even further.

    they are - Verio , Telia (we are getting them direct soon) and PCCWBTN.

    we are not dropping any connections just adding.

    thanks again for your continued business.

  34. #34
    sailor

    keep it up you are still the best, the golden DC

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419

    updates

    appears there were more issues on abovnet created as a result of their upgrades - jsut got this in the email. they were giving us errors also - it caused my internal routing to be somewaht freaky too. This was causing our routers to think they were still there anb to try to send them traffic - but they were munching it in both directions. I have completely cleared all sessions now - including internal sessions for good measure.

    Dear Valued Customer,

    mpr2.atl4 began experiencing memory problems
    this morning. Some bgp
    destinations were unreachable via atl4. We have
    just performed an emergency reboot and expect
    the router to be back in a few minutes.

    If you have any questions concerning this email,
    please contact our 24/7 AboveNet Client Services
    Center(CSC) at (877) ABOVENET (877-226-8363) or
    locally at(408) 350-6673 or internationally at
    001 (408)350-6673.

    Thank you,


    AboveNet Client Services

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,729
    as we announced on our forum
    Jeff, that's not fair and you know it's not. We're supposed to check your forums daily to make sure there isn't going to be some scheduled outage?

    This isn't the way you've notified us in the past and if you would like to start doing that, could you please create an announcements forum that we could subscribe to? The way it stands now, we'd have to subscribe to the whole forum to be notified of anything like this.

    You guys are the best there is, as far as I'm concerned, but I would really like to know about scheduled downtime.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419

    email

    Originally posted by Andrew
    Jeff, that's not fair and you know it's not. We're supposed to check your forums daily to make sure there isn't going to be some scheduled outage?

    This isn't the way you've notified us in the past and if you would like to start doing that, could you please create an announcements forum that we could subscribe to? The way it stands now, we'd have to subscribe to the whole forum to be notified of anything like this.

    You guys are the best there is, as far as I'm concerned, but I would really like to know about scheduled downtime.
    I could email off the forum. I get some complaints from time to time but - I guess that is the best bet at this point. the email that says - hey you need to follow this link for important in formation. I will do that. thanks!

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,729
    Cool thanks!

    I know you took heat for one of the other things, but that was rather silly. I like the notifications by email. The announcement forum by subscription would probably be a solution everyone would be happy with. That way people could subscribe if they want to know and remain blissful if they don't.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    Originally posted by Andrew
    . . . The announcement forum by subscription would probably be a solution everyone would be happy with. That way people could subscribe if they want to know and remain blissful if they don't.
    Yep, just subscribe to their announcement forum, with an off-network email address, and you'll be emailed when they make a post. Just hope they have that forum off their network!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •