Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    45

    Question vBulletin Spyfixed?

    i was just wondering if vBulletin had "spy" scripts built in there software?

    a friend setup a forum (PAID) but he thought and asked..
    say they post on there forum how they hate to pay for a great forum software if vBulletin will hear about that, stupid question i know.

    thx for looking.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    60
    Ok then first of all let us know the url of the forum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,026
    yes, vBulletin "calls home" to Jelsoft (the creators) website.
    Gone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    12,200
    Interesting....the term "spyfixed" refers to illegal copies of the forum software.

    Nice trolling

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    There is a call home script in every php file. Everytime a user logs into your forum it calls home telling them everything about you forum and checks a URL in the database.
    Don't look for a way out.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    60
    +1
    Just a child story

    Originally posted by timechange.com
    Interesting....the term "spyfixed" refers to illegal copies of the forum software.

    Nice trolling

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,815
    Originally posted by RDX Media
    There is a call home script in every php file. Everytime a user logs into your forum it calls home telling them everything about you forum and checks a URL in the database.
    Wow, I didn't know that. Another reason I'll never use Vb, that's a bit too much.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    Originally posted by MDJ2000
    Wow, I didn't know that. Another reason I'll never use Vb, that's a bit too much.
    Only he was supposed to know that. Ssh.

    The only thing that happens as far as vB 2.x is concerned is that when you log into the admin control panel a script connects to vBulletin and checks your URL to the database. That and when you log in a script calls and checks what version is the latest.
    Don't look for a way out.

  9. #9
    just out of curiosity, wouldnt this be considered invasion of webmasters privacy 'calling home'?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    No, it is spelled out clearly in their license agreement.
    Don't look for a way out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Let's see.....
    Posts
    4,446
    Can that script be disabled?
    73's, Kim
    Everything happens for a reason I make up.

  12. #12
    ohh okay then, my bad.. heh

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    If you find it in their code. You can remove it as it states in the license agreement you can edit the code (At your own risk).

    I don't see why it's a problem. It is their code, they own it and you only lease it (No matter if you have an own licensed or leased). It's not a free code and if they find out that you are using a board illegally they will do anything in their power to stop it. (If you and/or your host is in a country that obeys copyright laws) If you don't stop they contact your host, if your host doesn't stop they contact their host. All the way up to the ISP that supplies the lines.
    Don't look for a way out.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    In My Own World
    Posts
    972
    Why would anyone care of the script "called home"?

    Tracy Phillips

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,700
    Actually, the term most commonly used is "nullified".

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Let's see.....
    Posts
    4,446
    I think IPB does to, since the later versions have a version check in the admin areas. I don't know about phpBB though.
    73's, Kim
    Everything happens for a reason I make up.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    The only ones that worry are either the ones that pirate or are paranoid. The already have your name and address, who cares if they have your URL and license number when you log in? (They already have it.) Since they own it they can add whatever they want as long as it is made public and is added to the license agreement. (Which it already is as I pointed out.)
    Don't look for a way out.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,994
    You need to validate your customer number with Jelsoft before you can use the installation process as well for vB3 (I haven't looked at that code to see if you can remove it, as I have no need to as I have licensed copies).

    If you've got a legal license you've got nothing to be afraid of.

    So long as you make your users aware of the possibility of call backs in the license agreement then the user should expect it. After all the software is still the property of the author and they can program what they like into it... if you don't like it, don't buy it.
    Last edited by Rich2k; 03-23-2004 at 07:53 PM.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,696
    Originally posted by Rich2k
    You need to validate your customer number with Jelsoft before you can use the installation process as well for vB3 (I haven't looked at that code to see if you can remove it, as I have no need to as I have licensed copies).
    Actually that is not true. It calls /install/authenticate.php and all you need is your customer number. (Which is displayed on the top of each file.)
    Don't look for a way out.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13,277
    Im sure it could easily be disabled.........

    Hmmmm,Vbulletin is so good,why bother though!!

    The Dude

    PS-

    Is there a way to disable the thing that pop ups when you hover over a thread link in VB3??

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    45
    yeah i think my friend DLd it and is installing it on a local network, im not sure what hes trying to do, maybe test it or somthing make templates. but ill sure to pass it along thx you very much.

    these are good things to know about vB, i dont like the way vB 3 looks like.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Let's see.....
    Posts
    4,446
    The new vB3 looks a little simular to IPB. When I went to vB3 from IPB, some members thought I simply added another skin...
    73's, Kim
    Everything happens for a reason I make up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •