Analog "Gauge Style" progress meters

I'm looking for some guidance on a code snippet (php, javascript, DHTML, don't care) which impliments an analog gauge (tachometer, speedometer, whatever).

Does anyone know of anything out there?

Thanks!

You can't use flash?
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

Well, this is a hot-ticket tossed-together site. I am on an extremely tight deadline, and this is my first real foray into PHP. Additionally, I haven't touched web stuff since about 1996.

The other option was using a gauge package written in VC++ but I determined that the integration needed would have taken too long in a compiled language. (Especially considering that it would have been db->php->vc++ application. This way, it's at least DB->php only)

Quicker, no ui quirks to worry about, etc...

So, to answer your question, I guess that flash would be an option, but the data is relatively static (updated hourly) and I have no experience w/ flash.

If there is flash stuff out there I can use as a module or the like, then it would be acceptable, but I don't have the capabilities to work w/ flash (no software).

--dw

Well if the gauge will only be updated once an hour flash would probably be overkill anyway.

I thought it was something you wanted that would progress rather quickly. My bad.

Have you looked at hotscripts.com. You might find something there. Coding it in php should be simple enough if you already have the images made up for each stage of the meter. Really all you would need the php to do is see what stage you are at and call the correct picture. Well that would be an over simplified way to do it. There are other ways but you get my point.

Keep in mind anything server side will be static though. I.E. (PHP, PERL, c++) will only show a static picture. To update it you would have to refresh the webpage.
    <?
    ?>