New to server management. How difficult is it?

I run a message board currently on but due to the huge traffic I'm now getting and their abysmal service it looks like the only way to go is dedicated server.

How difficult is managing a server for a newbie?

Is it just a case of ftp uploading files or is it much more technical?

Apologies if this is a dumb question but I'm really new to all this. Also if anyone could recommend a site with a beginners FAQ guide that'd be great.

I would never recommend that you jump right into a dedicated server for a large forum and little or no experience. There are several routes you can look at that would be much better for someone in your position (IMO).

First if you are running between 50-100 gigs of transfer you can look at ServInt VPS. This is like a mini dedicated server but it comes fully managed from ServInt. That means you can do most everything you need from a control panel and then (under their watchful eye) learn how to do more and more on your own.

If you are already over 100 gigs of transfer then look at the Dedicated servers in the same link I posted for you. If it's coming from ServInt it will be a fully managed solution so that you can concentrate on running your forum while they keep your server up to date and running smooth.

The other route you could take is to grab an unmanaged dedicated server or VPS and hire a Sys Administrator to run things for you. Good Admins are hard to find and while this is certainly a viable solution it does usually cost a bit more this way.

California USA
    Well, you have the issue of security. Security updates come out all the time and you need to update constantly or you will have hackers on your front door
    Steven Ciaburri | Proactive Linux Server Management -
    Managed Servers (AS62710), Server Management, and Security Auditing.