Choosing a new host

Hi everybody,

I have been reading through forums trying to find the answers to some questions I have when I realized I might as well just post since there is so much here (very good) that stuff can sometimes be hard to find.

Anyway, I have been using a reseller account for the last ten months from a company that shall remain unnamed. They used to be very good with good support, but they changed hands and have gone downhill ever since. Two days ago I had about 6 hours of downtime and when their helpdesk (which was down with my sites) came back online and I submitted a ticket, the guy proceeded to tell me that they were never down and that the server had been running for over 20 days straight.

(To his credit, here is what happened: I could access my sites via their IP addresses, but not their domain names. It seems like that would be a DNS problem. Does anybody know why this would happen?).

So my sites came back online, but the yesterday I could no longer access WebHost Manager or cPanel. When I went to I got a 500 Internal Server error. I got the same thing when I went to When I went to it popped up the login, but then resulted in a blank screen after redirecting.

At the same time, I have not been able to send or receive e-mails for any of my sites. This is an odd error, because I use MS Outlook and when my site is down it generates a host not found error when I try to check my e-mail. Right now, however, it thinks it is sending and receiving perfectly (no errors), but nothing is getting through out or in.

I have sent the owner three e-mails and he hasn't responded to any of them yet. The only thing I have heard from him was his first response that the server was up (of course it was now that I could accesss the helpdesk) and a follow up to say that no one else had complained.

So I am looking for a new host. I will probably just go for a dedicated or vps with a friend to help pay for it.