what requires unique ip addresses?

Hello!

I am looking into rackshack.net for dedicated server. I've been reselling hosting space on shared server for couple of years now and I have only seen ip based hosting. So I am new to name based hosting.

So I am curious what I would need a unique ips for besides SSL? Perhaps we could get a list of those issues that require ip addresses in this thread.

Thank you!

Named based hosting got possible with HTTP1.1 - and today virtually noone is using a browser which does not use HTTP1.1 ( very old IE and Netscape versions, older than version 3.0 if not even older does not support it ) so that would not count as a valid excuse...

The problem is that your customers cant use IP-addressing ( http://xxx.xx.xxx.xxx ) in links etc. That became a problem for me some time ago when I needed to change host ( and rewrite the whole site from ASP to PHP ). I wanted to move parts of the site to the new server as they were rewritten to PHP. So I never wanted to transfer DNS until the whole site was rewritten - from the original ASP site I linked to the new site based on IP-address.

Not sure if these cases happen often ( and it could easily been solved with using a temporary domain name on the new server ), anyway at that point IP based hosting was my only choice.

Yes, but depending on how the namebased server is set up, you could have addressed the unpropagated site as:

http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/~username/

and that would work just as well.
    Top Hat Domains
    Internet Services for Less. Period.
    Peoria, Arizona
    http://www.tophatdomains.com

There are a lot of pickey customers that just HAVE to have IP's. Ask them why and they bite your head off. They have no reason, its just "cool". GERRRRRRRRRRR!!!

One scenario

A friend of mine set up his servers with separate IP's for his web server, email, ftp, news, ns1, ns2, ssl. He then put all his user's web sites on one IP.