Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    213

    * Can a Webpage be viewed in a country and not on another ???

    Hi,

    I've had this problem with several of my clients who live in Norway. They have a reseller account with us and from time to time, their page is not accessible for 30 to 60 mins. When we check our servers, everything seems to be ok and we are able to see the reseller's webpage. We even had a live chat with our reseller at one point and he was not able to view his page (from Norway) and we were able to view it (from Canada and US).
    How is that possible ? The client is not behind firewalls...
    Then minutes later, he would be able to view it.

    Any explanations ?

    Thanks
    http://www.sellwebhost.com
    Web Hosting and Domain Names
    24/7 Technical support

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    3,510
    Peering problems.
    Transit problems.
    DNS problems.
    Local cache problems.
    ISP blocking.

    Ask for a traceroute,ping and nslookup next time.

    Could be anything, sorry!
    MattF - Since the start..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    213
    hummm.. How can I pinpoint the problem ?
    traceroute,ping and nslookup of what ?

    Thanks
    http://www.sellwebhost.com
    Web Hosting and Domain Names
    24/7 Technical support

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    3,510
    Of the resellers domain.
    MattF - Since the start..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    213
    traceroute,ping and nslookup.. All results seem to be correct
    http://www.sellwebhost.com
    Web Hosting and Domain Names
    24/7 Technical support

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    3,510
    Did you ask him to do them when the problems occur?

    Possibly be a corrupt cache. Or if your ISP is using forceful intermediate caching servers (non-optional) for port 80, similar to what NTL are doing in the UK grr... Could be a problem with them. I'm sorry I can't be of more useful help.

    Ask him to a do a "telnet resellerdomain.com 80" when problems occur, what does that show?
    MattF - Since the start..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,202
    I have hosting a small webhosting account with someone , they got a server at SM.

    I live in New Zealand and some times i have troubles , but i got my isp to do a cache restart for me ( Restarted there cache servers )and now it works fine .....

    Also , sometimes you'll find that some isps will use cogent bandwidth and you can have port 80 blocks for 5 minutes or some thing random like that...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •