Linux + ASP, JSP, ColdFusion

Hey guys,

I've been running a server for about a month or so now. My server OS is Redhat Linux Enterprise 3.0 ES and I have the usual webserver install, Apache, PHP, mySQL and so on. I was wondering how reliable ASP, JSP, and/or Cold Fusion are on a Redhat server? Are there known issues, and are there specific requirements needed.

I would like to know this because I would like to introduce some new features on my hosting plans, help would be very much appreciated.

-- Thanks
    Bordernode Networks: Limitless Possibilities
    Xen HVM VPS: Linux, Windows, BSD, Solaris
    Follow us on Twitter: @Bordernode

ASP is fairly windows centric... so I'm not sure I'd try it. JSP is nice and powerful, but can be a pain to setup and integration into your existing apache setup can be tricky. I would probably only go JSP if you're going to use JSP for everything. I have no experience with cold fusion, but my guess would be that it too is windows centric.

On a linux machine you can use CGI pretty easily, I would try looking into perl or python and how to use cgi with whichever language you prefer. That way you can keep using apache and keep all of your existing content.

Hmm,

I already have Apache, PHP, CGI, and Perl installed on the server. I was looking into expanding my services into JSP and ASP, but I heard that the ASP module for Apache is unstable. I'll look into JSP and see how well it integrates with Linux and Apache.

-- Thanks

For JSP, you will need to install Tomcat.

You can then setup Apache to redirect all .jsp requests to Tomcat.

Goes without saying you'll need a JVM installed.

The setup of Tomcat is not a big issue on Linux in general -- but if you are using some control panel package that installs apache/php/etc for you, then it can be a big hassle to make everything play with each other.

Coldfusion is an application server. Afaik, there is no Linux equivalent of it.