Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hanoi - Vietnam
    Posts
    306

    Opteron or Athlon64 server - where are they

    Hello, where can I get those Athlon64 or Opteron dedicated server?

    I don't have a plan to purchase one right now so I think this thread should belong to DedServer forum...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    /home/dislexik
    Posts
    820
    Athlon 64 - No idea
    Opteron - www.ezzi.net
    "You don’t learn to hack, you hack to learn"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,441
    http://gnax.net has the Opteron 240's.

  4. #4
    http://boostdomain.com
    Affordable unlimited domain reseller plans
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers

  5. #5

    heres a couple

    "Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" -- Ben Franklin
    Twice Tied Laces

  6. #6
    Athlon 64 - No idea
    Opteron - www.ezzi.net
    Opteron = Athlon 64.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,889
    Actually, Opteron and Athlon aren't the same. Opterons have 1mb of L2 cache, are Socket 940, and are labeled with a three digit number such as 240, etc. while Athlon 64's have 512k of L2 cache, are Socket 754, and use AMD's typical 3000+ type naming. The Opteron is the server/high end workstation model and the Athlon 64 is the desktop/lower end workstation model. The processors also come at different clock speeds and at similar clock speeds the Opteron is a bit more expensive. Another major difference is most Opterons can be in dual, quad, etc. processor setups, that's what the first number in it's name means, while the Athlon 64 is strictly for single processor use.
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,974
    Liquidweb has opteron as well

  9. #9
    Karl, thanks for the clarification, so Opteron is AMD's 64bit server processor, right?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    594
    Originally posted by piramida
    Karl, thanks for the clarification, so Opteron is AMD's 64bit server processor, right?
    Correct.
    Benoît Brookens III
    President - Dataracks, Inc.
    Dataracks.net | Ultra-Reliable Hosting.™

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •