Router / Switch Question

I have Optimum Online broadband internet and a 4 port netgear router to network my house. However, the netgear has recently died and I need something new. My question is, will a switch work? Could I just buy a 8 Port switch and it could do the same effect?

I am not sure as to what the router is doing for me that the switch can't.

Someone please help me out with this one

Thank You

routers help with well, routing. Generally a switch is used to further split the line from teh router to make more avaliable connnections. I am not an expert on this, but I think that is how it works. A switch cannot handle controling the connection, routing ips, etc.

Thats what I was thinking. A switch can't assign IP's (DHCP Server) or anything.

A router makes one connection to the internet (WAN) and it creates a local network behind it (i.e. it assigns IP addresses via DHCP to all the computers hooked up to it). A router effectively becomes the only thing on your network visible to the internet.

A switch/hub however, just splits the connection up between the computers hooked up to it and each computer gets its own internet IP assigned by your ISP, so every computer hooked up to it is visible to the internet.
    [COLOR=dark-blue]Matt Carpenter[/COLOR]
    Offer your clients a brandable FTP upload utility

^^ What he said

If you have an old machine (386/486), with 2 NICs, you can run a DHCP server on it, plug one in to the cable modem and the other one into the switch and plug all your PCs into the switch.

That would work just as well as a router.
    Gone.

I have a Belkin ethernet router hooked up with my DSL. Just got it as an external firewall type thing.

The router has a built in firewall... doesn't the router add lots of extra protection against hackers... or just a little extra protection. Lots or little?