Online Hosting vs Own Servers

I'm just starting out and I am trying to figure out if I want to host on my own servers or find an online webhost. In your opinions and from your experiences, can you tell me which one would be better.

Like I said, I'm just starting out and don't have many large pages yet so I don't think bandwidth or storage would be an issue. What I am concerned about is the cost comparisons between the two options.

By the way, if I would build my own server I would use linux (fedora, to be more specific).

Thanks,
    Jeremy

it is not profitable in any way to run your own system until you have many users.

if youre doing this for money get yourself an online provider, if its for learning, do what you need to.
    jubba joo!

If you're starting out and do not know much about the business at all - start with a hosting account (e.g. a reseller acount) and get your feed wet. The learning curve is tremendous.
    Web Hosting Resource Kit - Web Hosting Reviews & Hosting Tutorials

you gotta consider this.. how many years how you had with unix expierence? i assume you'll run an all unix based shop based on the fedora comment.. You pay for a nice data line, T1 to start.. after you start making money you can upgrade.. it'll take you a while to get there.. I run mine on my own hardware, i also have 12 years of unix under my belt too, so i've been doing this sort of thing for quite some time now... I also suggest you have at *LEAST* 6 months month operating expenses the first couple months are going to be rough...
    Compaq Linux Forums!
    http://www.cpqforums.com